Galway vs Mayo preview

Galway vs Mayo preview

This weekend Galway take on Mayo in the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Preliminary quarter-final

Here's a full preview

Dublin , Ireland - 24 July 2022; Shane Walsh of Galway (Photo By Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

When is it on?

Sun, Jun 25, 2023

What time is it on?


What TV station is it on?


Where is it on?

Pearse Stadium, Galway

What time does coverage start?


Can I listen to it on the radio?

You can listen to updates on RTÉ

Are there tickets still available

Tickets can be found here

What are the odds

Odds can be found here


Sean Hurson

What happened the last time the sides played

2020 Connacht Final: Mayo 0-14 – 0-13 Galway

Squads and scorers that day

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 0-4 (3fs), Tommy Conroy 0-3, Bryan Walsh and Mattie Ruane 0-2 each, Paddy Durcan, Diarmuid O’Connor, and Ryan O’Donoghue (m) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 0-7 (4fs), Paul Conroy 0-3, Paul Kelly, Dessie Conneely, and Gary O’Donnell 0-1 each.

MAYO: David Clarke; Paddy Durcan, Chris Barrett, Oisin Mullin; Stephen Coen, Lee Keegan, Eoghan McLaughlin; Conor Loftus, Mattie Ruane; Kevin McLoughlin, Ryan O’Donoghue, Diarmuid O’Connor; Tommy Conroy, Aidan O’Shea, Cillian O’Connor.

Subs: Bryan Walsh for O’Donoghue (HT), Jordan Flynn for Loftus (58), Mark Moran for Conroy (60), Keith Higgins for McLoughlin (64), Fionn McDonagh for Ruane (70+3).

GALWAY: Bernard Power; Liam Silke, Sean Kelly, Cillian McDaid; Gary O’Donnell, Johnny Duane, Johnny Heaney; Cein D’Arcy, Michael Daly; Paul Kelly, Paul Conroy, Sean Ó Maoilchiaráin; Ian Burke, Dessie Conneely, Shane Walsh.

Subs: Ronan Steede for D’Arcy (23), Gareth Bradshaw for Duane (27), Kieran Molloy for O’Donnell (48), Damien Comer for Burke (49), Gary Sice for P Kelly (64).

How many All-Irelands has each side won

Galway (9): 1925, 1934, 1938, 1956, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1998, 2001

Mayo (3): 1936, 1950, 1951

How did they get here


Connacht Championship semi-finals: 23 April 2023: Roscommon 1-9 - 1-13 Galway

Connacht final 7 May 2023: Sligo 0-12 Galway 2-20

Championship round 1: - Round 1: Galway 0–16 Tyrone 0–13

Championship round 3 - Round 2: Westmeath 0–12 Galway 0–20

Championship round 3 - Round 1: Armagh 1–13 Galway 1–12


Connacht Championship quarter-finals 9 April 2023: Mayo 0-10 - 2-8 Roscommon.

Championship round 1: - Kerry 0–17 Mayo 1–19

Championship round 2 - Mayo 0-14-Louth 1-10

Championship round 3 - Mayo 1–11 Cork 1–14 in Limerick

Teams for the game




Updates can be found here