Sinead O’Connor and Pillow Queens to feature on album of covers inspired by The Cranberries

Sinead O’Connor and Pillow Queens to feature on album of covers inspired by The Cranberries

SINEAD O’CONNOR and Dublin band Pillow Queens have contributed to an upcoming charity album of covers inspired by The Cranberries.

Salvation – Inspired by the Cranberries for Pieta is a compilation featuring a number of Ireland’s best artists with the proceedings going to Pieta House, a charity that provides cost-free therapy for individuals suffering from suicidal thoughts.

Roe, True Tides and Kodaline are among the raft of Irish acts who have contributed covers of the songs made famous by the late great Dolores O’Riordan.

Also featured on the album is the emotive cover of Dreams released by Irish Women in Harmony, a collective featuring some of Ireland’s biggest female talents, earlier this year.

The album will open with O’Connor’s cover of No Need To Argue, the title track from The Cranberries’ second album.

Other highlights include True Tides version of Ode to My Family while there’s also a contribution from the Cranberries themselves, performing a live acoustic version of Chocolate Brown recorded for a 2FM radio performance back in 2002.

Ahead of the album’s release on October 1, fans can listen to Pillow Queens’ version of When You’re Gone, a song taken from the band’s third album When You’re Gone.

All told, the 13-track collection features selected songs from The Cranberries first five studio albums: Everybody Else is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?, No Need To Argue, ‘To The Faithful Departed’, Bury The Hatchet, and Wake Up and Smell the Coffee.

Boasting version by some of the very best of contemporary Irish artists on the scene, the album also includes rising star Moncrieff with his cover of Free to Decide as well as Wyvern Lingo with Salvation plus many more.

SALVATION – inspired by The Cranberries will be available on CD, download, all streaming platforms & Limited-Edition vinyl from October 1st, 2021.

The full track listing is as follows:

1. Sinead O’Connor – No Need to Argue
2. Irish Women in Harmony – Dreams
3. Pillow Queens – When You’re Gone
4. Moncrieff – Free to Decide
5. Wyvern Lingo – Salvation
6. Aimée – Linger
7. Walking On Cars – Promises
8. Kodaline with the RTE Orchestra featuring Noel Hogan – Zombie (Live)
9. The Cranberries – Chocolate Brown (Recorded Live for 2FM)
10. Kitt Philippa – Twenty One
11. Roe – Can’t Be With You
12. True Tides – Ode to My Family
13. Kellie Lewis – Ridiculous Thoughts