Michael Collins elected new Warwickshire GAA Chairperson during online AGM

Michael Collins elected new Warwickshire GAA Chairperson during online AGM

IN this most unique of years, there was a first for the Warwickshire County Board as it held its Annual General Meeting online on Wednesday, December 9.

With outgoing Chairperson Mark McLoughlin concluding his five years of service, Michael Collins was elected to the role for the second time.

Noel McLean Jnr was elected to the position of Vice-Chairperson with Sean Davies and Tara Tolan both elected to the positions of Secretary and Assistant Secretary respectively.

Michael Walker continues as Treasurer, with Martin Grogan elected to the position of Assistant Treasurer, while McLoughlin takes over the role of PRO.

Noel McLean Snr was elected as Vice-President with Aiden Flynn continuing in the role of Warwickshire President.

In his outgoing statement, McLoughlin thanked all the clubs and members across the county, in particular paying tribute to those members involved with the NHS and those helping out with food bank drives over the course of the year.

Mick O’Brien was thanked for his efforts as Covid Officer in helping the county to stage games in the midst of a pandemic, while all clubs and officers were thanked for their support to allow for games to take place safely.

Looking forward to 2021, against the backdrop of the ongoing pandemic, there is the anticipated start to the construction works at Pairc na hÉireann, with plans now submitted to Solihull Council.

Given the financial impact of the pandemic there was a wider plea across the Warwickshire GAA to encourage further sponsorship from businesses as the county moves forward into what promises to be a crucial year for the county.

As the AGM reflected on those we've lost over the course of the last year there was an emotional tribute paid to the late John McCaul, as McLoughlin reflected: “His like will not be seen again.”

The funeral will take place at Our Lady of Lourdes (B13 0EU) on Monday, December 14 at 11am, followed by burial at Robin Hood Cemetery.

For those unable to attend this can be viewed online here.