Hurdler Thomas Barr earns Irish Athlete of the Year award

Hurdler Thomas Barr earns Irish Athlete of the Year award

HURDLER Thomas Barr has been named Irish Athlete of the Year at the 2015 GloHealth National Athletics Awards.

The Ferrybank athlete enjoyed a fruitful summer, claiming the World Universities 400m hurdles title in South Korea and set a new Irish 400metre hurdles record of 48.65 second.

Barr, who is from Waterford, also earned the Field Athlete of the Year and University Athlete of the Year Awards during a stellar 12 months.

The 23-year-old beat race walker Rob Heffernan (Togher) and middle-distance runner Mark English (UCD), who came second and third respectively.

Meanwhile, former middle distance runner Frank O'Mara, twice a 3000m World Indoor Champion (1987 and 1991), was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

GloHealth National Athletics Awards winners

Athlete of the Year: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)
Hall of Fame: Frank O’Mara
Lifetime service to Athletics: Dick Hodgins (Cork City Sports)
Outstanding Official Award: John McDermott (Annalee AC)
Junior Athlete: Kevin Mulcaire (Ennis Track)
U23 Athlete: Mark English (UCD)
Endurance: Rob Heffernan (Togher)
Track & Field: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)
Inspirational Performance: Brian Murphy (Crusaders)
Performance Club: Clonliffe Harriers
Development Club: Finn Valley AC
Team of the Year: Women’s Senior Team European Cross Country Championships
Service to Coaching: John Shields (Clonliffe Harriers)
Mountain Runner: Ian Conroy (Raheny Shamrock)
Master Athlete: Mick Traynor (Raheny Shamrock)
Ultra Athlete: Eoin Keith (Sportsworld)
University Athlete: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank)
Irish Schools Tailteann Awards – Girl: Phoebe Murphy (Loreto Clonmel)
Irish Schools Tailteann Award – Boy: Matthew Behan (CUS)