Irish pair Jessie Buckley and Barry Keoghan among nominees for BAFTA Rising Star Award

Irish pair Jessie Buckley and Barry Keoghan among nominees for BAFTA Rising Star Award

TWO Irish actors are in the running for the 2019 BAFTA Rising Star Award.

Jessie Buckley and Barry Keoghan are among the five nominees chosen for showing outstanding talent on the big screen in the past year.

However the pair face competition from Black Panther star Letitia Wright, who was reportedly the highest grossing actor at the box office in 2018.

Standing ovation

Buckley, from Co. Kerry, won critical acclaim for her leading role in the recent drama film Beast.

Her upcoming film Wild Rose meanwhile earned a standing ovation when it premiered at the 2018 Toronto Film Festival.

“I would like to thank both BAFTA and the jury from the bottom of my heart for putting me forward for the 2019 EE Rising Star Award – it’s a huge honour and a fantastic category to be nominated for, especially as the winner is decided by film fans at home,” said Buckley.

Jessie Buckley (Image: Getty)

The 29-year-old first hit screens when she finished as runner up on BBC One’s I’d Do Anything, which looked to cast an unknown actress for the role of Nancy in Oliver!

Dubliner Keoghan meanwhile impressed in 2018’s Famine-era thriller Black 47.

That followed impressive turns in Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk and The Killing of a Sacred Deer, opposite Colin Farrell.


"I want to thank BAFTA and of course the jury for this incredible honour,” said Keoghan.

“It’s really exciting to be put forward for the EE Rising Star Award.

“Over the years, I have watched so many actors and actresses that I admire be nominated in this category, so to think that I’m now on that list is an amazing feeling.”

Barry Keoghan (Image: Getty)

The other nominees include Cynthia Erivo (Widows), Lakeith Stanfield (Get Out) and Letitia Wright (Black Panther).

According to Fandango, Wright’s Marvel Cinematic Universe roles made her the highest grossing actor of 2018.

The nominees were chosen by a panel which includes Rosamund Pike and Game of Thrones star Richard Madden.

The winner will be announced on February 10 following a public vote.

Previous recipients have included Tom Holland, Jack O’Connell and Tom Hardy.