Andrew Trimble misses out on World Cup spot as Joe Schmidt names 31-man squad

Andrew Trimble misses out on World Cup spot as Joe Schmidt names 31-man squad

ANDREW TRIMBLE has been left out of Joe Schmidt’s 31-man World Cup squad.

The 30-year-old Ulster man – who was voted Ireland’s 2014 player of the year – has only played once in the last 12 months due to a toe injury.

Ireland coach Schmidt today revealed his squad that includes 17 players making their tournament debut.

Cian Healy looks set to be fit in time for the World Cup after recovering from a neck injury and was named in the team alongside his Leinster team-mate and fellow prop Tadhg Furlong.

Furlong is selected after making his debut against Wales, a preferred option to Michael Bent and Marty Moore.

The Ulster centre Darren Cave is also selected alongside Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne.

The omission of veteran Gordon D'Arcy suggests that his international career is coming to an end.

Schmidt’s decision to name just two scrumhalves – Conor Murray and Eoin Reddan – means Ian Madigan will be required to provide additional support.

Leinster’s Isaac Boss and Connacht’s Kieran Marmion miss out on World Cup places.

The seven Ulster players in the World Cup squad are forwards Rory Best, Chris Henry and Iain Henderson and backs Tommy Bowe, Payne, Cave and Paddy Jackson.

Paul O’Connell – who made his final international appearance against Wales in Dublin over the weekend – will captain the squad.

Keith Earls and Luke Fitzgerald both picked up knocks in the game but have been selected.

Ireland's World Cup squad

Forwards: Rory Best (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (capt), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Nathan White (Connacht).

Backs: Tommy Bowe (Ulster), Darren Cave (Ulster), Keith Earls (Munster), Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Dave Kearney (Leinster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Ian Madigan (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Simon Zebo (Munster).