Ireland have 8 players included in Six Nations Team of the Championship

Ireland have 8 players included in Six Nations Team of the Championship

The Irish rugby team boasts 8 players included in the Guinness Men’s Six Nations Team Of The Championship this year. Players such as Andrew Porter, Bundee Aki, James Lowe, Finn Russell, Jamison Gibson-Park, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Bierne, Joe McCarthy, and Caelan Doris have all been acknowledged for their efforts

Ireland clinched the Six Nations championship for the second consecutive year, coming close to another Grand Slam but being narrowly defeated by England in the final weeks of the competition.

Ireland's representatives in the team are complemented by players such as France's Thomas Ramos, Uni Antonio, England's Ben Earl, Scotland's Duhan van der Merwe and Finn Russell, and Italy's Tommaso Menoncello and Michele Lamaro. Notably, Wales has no players included.

The process of assembling an initial shortlist was influenced by identifying the top-performing players per position, with performance data provided by Stats Perform. Fans were then entrusted with voting for the standout player in each position.

Key statistics from the included players: [Details would follow here, but you haven't provided them.]

Thomas Ramos retained his title as the top point scorer for Les Bleus for the second consecutive year, with 63 points in 2024.

Duhan van der Merwe was one of two joint-top try-scorers, each scoring five tries, a record for Scotland.

Bundee Aki led in metres made in contact and carries among all centres in the championship.

Tommaso Menoncello, named the Guinness Player of the Championship, excelled in dominant tackles and turnovers, sharing the latter with his centre partner Juan Ignacio Brex.

James Lowe stood out for his carry metres and kicking metres, along with scoring four tries.

Finn Russell boasted the highest place-kick success rate and was the sole player to achieve two 50/22 kicks.

Jamison Gibson-Park led in try assists and carries among scrum-halves.

Andrew Porter dominated turnovers and attacking rucks among props.

Dan Sheehan, alongside van der Merwe, topped try-scoring among forwards.

Uini Atonio excelled in turnover-winning tackles and had a dominant carry rate among tightheads.

Tadhg Beirne stood out for his lineout steals, tries, and line breaks among locks.

Joe McCarthy showcased excellence in breaking tackles, defenders beaten, and offloads among locks.

Caelan Doris displayed high efficiency in attacking and defensive ruck hits.

Michele Lamaro set a record for the most tackles in a Six Nations championship.

Ben Earl led in carries and defenders beaten among forwards, trailing only Billy Vunipola's single-campaign record for defenders beaten.