Met Éireann issue another snow and ice warning for eleven counties

Met Éireann issue another snow and ice warning for eleven counties

MET ÉIREANN have issued yet another Yellow Weather Warning for Ireland following the bout of snow which covered much of the country earlier this week.

Bad weather has battered the island recently-- more so than usual, that is-- as Storm Ciara gave the country a hiding over the weekend, followed by snowfall in many areas and extremely high winds which tore the roof off a school in Mayo.

Despite St Brigid's Day, the 1st of February, meant to indicate the beginning of springtime in Ireland, it looks like the wintry weather is still far from over as Met Éireann have issued yet another weather warning, this time for eleven counties.

The national meteorological service issued the snow and ice warning for Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Louth, Wicklow, Galway, Mayo, Leitrim, Roscommon and Sligo, warning of 'wintry outbreaks' with snow accumulations possible overnight, particularly in the northern part of the country and on higher ground.

The snow warning will come into effect from 8pm tonight, Wednesday 12 February, and will last until tomorrow morning at 10am.

So if you plan on driving later this evening or early tomorrow morning, be careful on the roads-- because unfortunately, it doesn't sound like enough to warrant a snow day.