Dublin and Kerry to dominate All-Star team selection tonight

Dublin and Kerry to dominate All-Star team selection tonight

Tonight, 15 Gaelic footballers will be included in the PwC All-Star team at a lavish ceremony. The hurling All-Star team has already been revealed ahead of the ceremony.

Tonight's expected football team is anticipated to be dominated by All-Ireland finalists Dublin and Kerry.

Thirteen counties make the list, marking the most extensive spread since 2008. Dublin leads with 10 nominations, followed by Kerry with nine. Other counties securing nominations include Derry (seven), Monaghan (four), Galway, Armagh, Roscommon, Tyrone, Mayo, and Donegal (two each), as well as Cork, Westmeath, and Kildare (one each).

The race for Footballer of the Year will be contested by David Clifford from Kerry, Brian Fenton from Dublin, and Brendan Rogers from Derry. For the Young Footballer of the Year category, the nominees include Ethan Doherty and Eoin McEvoy from Derry, along with Conor Carroll from Roscommon.

Photo By Seb Daly/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

This week, the hurling team was selected. Limerick's Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Kyle Hayes, Darragh O'Donovan, Will O'Donoghue, Tom Morrissey, and Aaron Gillane were all included. Kilkenny had five players included too: Eoin Murphy, Mikey Butler, TJ Reid, Eoin Cody, and Huw Lawlor. Kilkenny's Reid's inclusion now means that he has won a record seventh All-Star at the age of 40.

Clare's John Conlon and Shane O'Donnell, and Conor Whelan of Galway rounded out the XV.

Tonight, the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year nominees will be selected. They are the Limerick trio of Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, and Diarmaid Byrnes. The Young Hurler of the Year category includes Mark Rodgers (Clare), Ciaran Joyce (Cork), and Adam Hogan (Clare).

The All-Star ceremony will take place on Friday at the RDS in Dublin tonight. Coverage of the awards will begin at 7:30 today. The awards will be shown live on RTE One and can be streamed via the RTE Player.

PwC Football All Star Nominees

Goalkeepers: Rory Beggan (Monaghan), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Shane Ryan (Kerry).

Defenders: Jason Foley (Kerry), Tadhg Morley (Kerry), Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry), Gavin White (Kerry), Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin), Lee Gannon (Dublin), Brian Howard (Dublin), Gareth McKinless (Derry), Conor McCluskey (Derry), Eoin McEvoy (Derry), Conor McCarthy (Monaghan), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Seán Kelly (Galway), Aidan Forker (Armagh), Brian Stack (Roscommon), Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone), Rory Maguire (Cork), Brendan McCole (Donegal).

Midfielders: Brian Fenton (Dublin), James McCarthy (Dublin), Conor Glass (Derry), Brendan Rogers (Derry), Diarmuid O’Connor (Kerry), Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo).

Forwards: Colm Basquel (Dublin), Cormac Costello (Dublin), Paul Mannion (Dublin), Con O’Callaghan (Dublin), David Clifford (Kerry), Paudie Clifford (Kerry), Seán O’Shea (Kerry), Paul Cassidy (Derry), Shane McGuigan (Derry), Oisín Gallen (Donegal), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Enda Smith (Roscommon), Darragh Canavan (Tyrone), Rónán O’Toole (Westmeath), Andrew Murnin (Armagh), Jordan Flynn ((Mayo), Ben McCormack (Kildare), Damien Comer (Galway).

PwC Footballer of the Year Nominees: David Clifford (Kerry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Brendan Rogers (Derry).

PwC Young Footballer of the Year Nominees: Ethan Doherty (Derry), Eoin McEvoy (Derry), Conor Carroll (Roscommon).

PwC Hurling All-Stars 2023

(Previous winning years in brackets)

  1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) (2016, 2018, 2021)
  2. Mikey Butler (Kilkenny) (2022)
  3. Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny) (2022)
  4. Dan Morrissey (Limerick) (2018, 2020)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick) (2020, 2021, 2022)
  6. John Conlon (Clare) (2018)
  7. Kyle Hayes (Limerick) (2020, 2021, 2022)
  8. Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick) (2021)
  9. Will O’Donoghue (Limerick) (2021)
  10. Shane O’Donnell (Clare) (2022)
  11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny) (2012, 2014, 2015, 2019, 2020, 2022)
  12. Tom Morrissey (Limerick) (2020, 2021)
  13. Conor Whelan (Galway) (2017)
  14. Aaron Gillane (Limerick) (2019, 2020, 2022)
  15. Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees

Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, Diarmaid Byrnes (all Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees

Adam Hogan (Clare), Mark Rodgers (Clare), Ciaran Joyce (Cork