Limerick dominates 2023 PwC GAA/GPA All-Star awards

Limerick dominates 2023 PwC GAA/GPA All-Star awards

Limerick, the four-time All-Ireland Hurling champions, dominate this year's PwC GAA/GPA All-Star awards. John Kiely's team boasts 14 players nominated for the awards, which is two more than they had in the previous year.

The Hurler of the Year award will also be claimed by a Limerick player. Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, and Diarmaid Byrnes are the sole contenders on the nomination list.

Clare has nine players nominated, while Kilkenny, the runners-up in the All-Ireland final, have eight nominations. Galway has six, Cork has three, Tipperary also has three, and Dublin has one player included.

Clare's young talents, Adam Hogan and Mark Rodgers, join Cork's Ciaran Joyce as nominees for the Young Player of the Year award.

The All-Star team will be selected by a panel of broadcast and written journalists, while the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year will be determined by a vote among the players.

The awards ceremony is scheduled for November 17 at the RDS in Dublin and will be broadcast live on RTÉ television and the RTÉ Player.

Goalkeepers: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Nickie Quaid (Limerick), Eibhear Quilligan (Clare)

Defenders: Barry Nash (Limerick), Mike Casey (Limerick), Dan Morrissey (Limerick), Kyle Hayes (Limerick), Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick), Mikey Butler (Kilkenny), Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny), Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny), David Blanchfield (Kilkenny), John Conlon (Clare), Adam Hogan (Clare), Diarmuid Ryan (Clare), David McInerney (Clare), Ciarán Joyce (Cork), Damien Cahalane (Cork), Jack Grealish (Galway), Daithí Burke (Galway), Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

Midfielders: Darragh O'Donovan (Limerick), Will O'Donoghue (Limerick), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), David Fitzgerald (Clare), Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)

Forwards: Cian Lynch (Limerick), Peter Casey (Limerick), Tom Morrissey (Limerick), Aaron Gillane (Limerick), Seamus Flanagan (Limerick), David Reidy (Limerick), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Conor Whelan (Galway), Brian Concannon (Galway), Evan Niland (Galway), Tony Kelly (Clare), Shane O’Donnell (Clare), Mark Rodgers (Clare), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Eoin Cody (Kilkenny), Jake Morris (Tipperary), Dónal Burke (Dublin), Patrick Horgan (Cork)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees: Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, Diarmaid Byrnes (all Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees: Adam Hogan (Clare), Mark Rodgers (Clare), Ciaran Joyce (Cork)