Munster have selected their side to face the Stormers

Munster have selected their side to face the Stormers

Munster have selected their side to face the Stormers on Saturday evening. There are four changes to the side beaten by Ulster in Belfast last week.

Munster captain Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne return from international duty and go straight into the first XV, with fellow Ireland international Conor Murray among the replacements. Scott Buckley starts at hooker for the first time since his debut in 2021 and makes his 21st Munster appearance.

Academy winger Shay McCarthy starts on his third Munster appearance and is the only change to the backline. Stephen Archer is also named among the replacements and is in line to play his 268th game for Munster, equaling Donncha O’Callaghan’s record of most appearances for the province.

Shane Daly starts at full-back, with Calvin Nash and McCarthy on either wing. Craig Casey and Jack Crowley start together in the half-backs once again, with Alex Nankivell and Antoine Frisch continuing their centre partnership.

Jeremy Loughman, Buckley, and John Ryan start in the front row, with Academy lock Edwin Edogbo and Beirne in the engine room. O’Mahony, John Hodnett, and Gavin Coombes complete the starting XV.

In the replacements, hooker Chris Moore is in line for his senior Munster debut off the bench after joining from Exeter University in 2022. Josh Wycherley, record-equalling Archer, Tom Ahern, and Alex Kendellen complete the back-up in the forwards. Murray and Rory Scannell are the backline replacements.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster side. 

Fullback 15. Shane Daly

Winger 14 Calvin Nash

Centre 13. Antoine Frisch, 12. Alex Nankivell

Winger 11. Shay McCarthy

Out-half 10. Jack Crowley, Scrum-half 9. Craig Casey

Front-row 1. Jeremy Loughman, 2. Scott Buckley, 3. John Ryan

Second-row 4. Edwin Edogbo, 5. Tadhg Beirne

Back-row 6. Peter O’Mahony (C), 7. John Hodnett, 8. Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Chris Moore, Josh Wycherley, Stephen Archer, Tom Ahern, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Rory Scannell, Alex Kendellen.