Win an All Britain Competition jersey signed by a host of GAA legends

Win an All Britain Competition jersey signed by a host of GAA legends

BOTH the Sam Maguire and Liam MacCarthy Cups will take centre stage at the 2015 All Britain Competition in London next week from July 10-12.

But many would be surprised to know about the connections Sam Maguire and Liam MacCarthy have here in Britain.

Sam Maguire was born in the Townland of Mallabraca near Dunmanway in mid-West Cork.

There is a statue of him in Dunmanway to commemorate his contribution to the GAA.

He took a job in the Civil Service in London where he joined and captained the successful London Hibernians Gaelic football team to several club All-Ireland finals between 1900 and 1904.

And in 1901 London won the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship.

Liam MacCarthy was born in Southwark, London to Irish parents who had emigrated from Ballygarvan, also in West Cork.

He too was also elected chairman of London GAA County Board, a position he held for 10 years - when Sam Maguire was Chairman he was Vice Chairman.

Michael Collins was also a member of the London County Board.

The Irish Post has a limited edition ABC jersey signed by the following Kerry GAA Legends: John O’Dwyer, Pat Spillane, Mick Spillane, Tom Spillane, Eoin Liston, Seanie Walsh, Darragh O Sé, Tommy Griffin, Mick Galway, Ger O’Keefe, Eoin Brosnan, Barry O’Shea, Mike Frank Russell, Pat McCarthy, John Griffin, Killian Byrnes, Declan O’Keefe.

Rugby players Rob Henderson, Damian Varley and Ben Clarke, Irish Ambassador Dan Mulhall, Minister for the Diaspora Jimmy Deenihan and broadcaster Marty Morrissey have also signed their name to the prize.

To be in with a chance of winning, simply answer the following question:

In which town in Ireland is there a statue of Sam Maguire? 

Send your answer, with the subject as ‘ABC Competition’, along with your contact details (email and day time telephone) to competitions@http:// or post to:

ABC Competition,

The Irish Post,

Suite A, 1 Lindsey Street,

Smithfield, London EC1A 9HP

Closing date for entries is 5pm on Friday, July 10.

The winner will be announced on Friday 10th July at the All Britain Competition by GAA President Aogán O Fearghail and GAA Vice President Martin McAvinney. The winner will also be contacted separately by The Irish Post.

The Irish Post is the Official Media Sponsor to the All Britain Competition

*Terms and conditions apply. Management’s decision is final.