Bemand selects Ireland squad for the Guinness Women’s Six Nations

Bemand selects Ireland squad for the Guinness Women’s Six Nations

Ireland's Scott Bemand has named his 35-player Ireland squad for the Guinness Women’s Six Nations this year.

The Irish squad will welcome back the likes of Sam Monaghan, Edel McMahon, Béibhinn Parsons, Eve Higgins, and Aoibheann Reilly, who were all part of Ireland’s HSBC SVNS Series squad this year.

Eight players from the WXV3 squad have also been included in Bemand's squad list. They include Ruth Campbell, Katie Whelan, Chisom Ugwuere, Katie Corrigan, Katie Heffernan, Clare Gorman, Andrea Stock, and Shannon Ikahihifo.

In addition to the 35 players included in the squad, Bemand has named seven players in a wider training panel who will also assemble at the IRFU High-Performance Centre when camp commences on Monday, February 26th: India Daley, Kate Flannery, Hannah O’Connor, Maeve Óg O’Leary, Ivanna Kiripati, Leah Tarpey, and Kayla Waldron.

Speaking about the squad announcement, Head Coach Scott Bemand said, "We are excited for this group of players who will represent Ireland in the upcoming Guinness Women’s Six Nations. The WXV3 and the Celtic Challenge preparation have been vital for our development and expanding our player pool. On the back of the success of the Women’s Sevens side, we are chasing potential through this group of players, and we are all looking to perform in a high-quality competition.

“With three home games in Ireland, we are looking forward to connecting with the fan base and playing in front of home crowds in Dublin, Cork, and Belfast, and would urge everyone to get behind the team and show their support for the women’s team.”

Bemand has also confirmed his coaching team for the 2024 Championship: Declan Danaher (defence coach)  joins the coaching panel, while Denis Fogarty (scrum coach)  and Larissa Muldoon (assistant backs & attack coach) continue in their roles alongside John McKee (senior coach).

Ireland kicks off their Championship campaign away to France at Stade Marie-Marvingt on Saturday, March 23rd (kick-off at 3:15 pm, Irish time, live on RTÉ), followed by a home match against Italy at the RDS on Easter Sunday, March 31st (kick-off at 3 pm, live on RTÉ).

After a brief break, the campaign resumes with another home fixture at Virgin Media Park in Cork against Wales on Saturday, April 13th (kick-off at 4:45 pm, live on Virgin Media), followed by an away match against England at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, April 20th (kick-off at 2:15 pm, live on Virgin Media).

Ireland concludes their Championship journey with a home game at Kingspan Stadium against Scotland on Saturday, April 27th (kick-off at 2:30 pm, live on RTÉ)

Ireland Squad: Guinness Women’s Six Nations 2024

Forwards (19):
Claire Boles (Railway Union RFC/Ulster) Ruth Campbell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) *Megan Collis (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) Eimear Corri (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) Sarah Delaney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster) Shannon Ikahihifo (Ealing Trailfinders/IQ Rugby) and Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury/Ulster) Sadhbh McGrath (MU Barnhall/Cooke RFC/Ulster) Edel McMahon (Exeter Chiefs/Connacht) (Co-Captain) Grace Moore (Saracens/IQ Rugby) Sam Monaghan (Gloucester-Hartpury) (Co-Captain) Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) Andrea Stock (Ealing Trailfinders/IQ Rugby) and Fiona Tuite (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster) Aoife Wafer (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College RFC/Munster)

Backs (16):
Natasja Behan (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) Enya Breen (Blackrock College/Munster) Katie Corrigan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) and Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht) Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby) Nicole Fowley (Galwegians RFC/Connacht) Clare Gorman (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)* Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)* Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster) Béibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht) Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht) Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) Chisom Ugwueru (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster) and Katie Whelan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

Training Panellists (7):

India Daley (Blackrock College RFC/Ulster)* Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)* Ivana Kiripati (Tuam-Oughterard/Connacht)* Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster) Maeve Óg O’Leary (Blackrock College RFC/Munster), Leah Tarpey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) and Kayla Waldron (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)

*Denotes uncapped players

Ireland Coaching Team and Management

Scott Bemand, Head Coach John McKee, Senior Coach Declan Danaher, Defence Coach Denis Fogarty, Scrum Coach Larissa Muldoon, Assistant Backs and Attack Coach (World Rugby Intern) Elaine Ryan, Team Manager Roisin Murphy, and National Team Physio Matt Cosgrove, Team Doctor Cian O’Brien, Performance Analyst Ed Slattery, and Head of Athletic Performance Greg Hollins, Athletic Performance Assistant Emma Brennan, Performance Nutritionist Andy Weir, Baggage Master Sean Ryan, and High Performance Culture and Leadership Lead Lisa Doyle, Media and Communications

Ireland Fixtures

Saturday, March 23: France vs. Ireland, Stade Marie-Marvingt, 3.15 (Irish time) (live on RTÉ).
Sunday, March 31: Ireland vs. Italy, the RDS, 3pm (live on RTÉ).
Saturday, April 13: Ireland vs. Wales, Musgrave Park, 4.45 (live on Virgin Media).
Saturday, April 2: England vs. Ireland, Twickenham, 2.15 (live on Virgin Media).
Saturday, April 27: Ireland vs. Scotland, Kingspan Stadium, 2.30 (live on RTÉ).