Derry v Monaghan: GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship preview

Derry v Monaghan: GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship preview

This weekend Derry takes on Monaghan in the opening round of the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

Here's the preview for the game.

Conor Glass of Derry. (Photo By Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Where is it on?

Celtic Park

When is it on?

Sat, May 27, 2023

What time is it on?


What TV station is it on?

GAAGO will show the game

What time does coverage start?


Can I listen to it on the radio?

You can listen to updates on RTE RADIO 1

Are there tickets still available

Tickets can be found here

What are the odds

Odds can be found here


Noel Mooney

What happened the last time the sides played

Ulster Senior Football Championship Semi-Final, Sat, Apr, 2023: DERRY 1-21 MONAGHAN 2-10

Squads and scorers that day

Scorers for Derry: Shane McGuigan 0-9 (5f); Conor McCluskey 1-0; Conor Glass 0-2; Paul Cassidy 0-2; Pádraig McGrogan 0-2; Ethan Doherty 0-2; Niall Toner 0-1f; Conor Doherty 0-1; Brendan Rogers 0-1; Odhrán Lynch 0-1.

Scorers for Monaghan: Karl O’Connell 1-1; Karl Gallagher 1-0; Conor McManus 0-3f; Rory Beggan 0-2f; Mícheál Bannigan 0-1; Stephen O’Hanlon 0-1; Kieran Hughes 0-1; Conor Boyle 0-1.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch; Chrissy McKaigue, Conor McCluskey; Conor Doherty; Pádraig McGrogan, Pádraig Cassidy, Eoin McEvoy; Conor Glass (Capt.), Brendan Rogers; Paul Cassidy, Gareth McKinless, Ethan Doherty; Niall Toner, Shane McGuigan, Niall Loughlin.

Subs: Benny Heron for Pádraig Cassidy (50); Ciarán McFaul for Loughlin (58); Ben McCarron for McGrogan (65); Paul McNeill for McKaigue (68); Lachlan Murray for Toner (72).

Temporary sub: Benny Heron for McKinless (34-H-T).

Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Conor Boyle, Kieran Duffy (Capt.), Ryan Wylie; Ryan O’Toole, Karl O’Connell, Conor McCarthy; Darren Hughes, Killian Lavelle; Karl Gallagher, Mícheál Bannigan, Dessie Ward; Stephen O’Hanlon; Jack McCarron, Conor McManus.

Subs: Shane Carey for McCarron, Kieran Hughes for D Hughes (inj.) (both 30); Gary Mohan for Ward (43); Conor Leonard for Gallagher (62); Seán Jones for Wylie (65)

How many All-Ireland's has each side won

Derry (1) 1993

Monaghan (0)

Teams for the game

Teams will be announced on Friday