Which countries are on Ireland's mandatory hotel quarantine list and will I be affected?

Which countries are on Ireland's mandatory hotel quarantine list and will I be affected?

MANDATORY HOTEL quarantine came into effect in Ireland from Friday, 26 March.

The measures affected travellers from 33 different countries designated as 'high risk' by the Irish government, in an attempt to slow the spread of Covid-19 in Ireland.

A week later, 26 more countries were added the list-- all passengers from these countries must also spend 12 nights in a designated hotel upon their arrival in Ireland.

As of 15 April, 16 further countries were added to the list.

But which countries are on Ireland's mandatory hotel quarantine list?

Which countries are on Ireland's mandatory hotel quarantine list?

The countries on Ireland's hotel quarantine list are as follows:

  • Angola,
  • Austria,
  • Argentina,
  • Bolivia,
  • Botswana,
  • Burundi,
  • Brazil,
  • Cape Verde,
  • Chile,
  • Colombia,
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo,
  • Equador,
  • French Guinea,
  • Guyana,
  • Lesotho,
  • Malawi,
  • Eswatini,
  • Mauritius,
  • Mozambique,
  • Namibia,
  • Panama,
  • Paraguay,
  • Peru,
  • Rwanda,
  • Suriname,
  • South Africa,
  • Seychelles,
  • Tanzania,
  • United Arab Emirates,
  • Uruguay,
  • Venezuela,
  • Zambia,
  • Zimbabwe


Which new countries have been added to Ireland's Mandatory Hotel Quarantine list?

The countries newly added to the quarantine list are:

  • Albania,
  • Andorra,
  • Aruba,
  • Bahrain,
  • Bonaire,
  • Sint Eustatius and Saba,
  • Ethiopia,
  • Israel,
  • Jordan,
  • Kosovo,
  • Kuwait,
  • Lebanon,
  • Moldova,
  • Monaco,
  • Montenegro,
  • Nigeria,
  • North Macedonia,
  • Oman,
  • Palestine,
  • The Philippines,
  • Puerto Rico,
  • Qatar,
  • Saint Lucia,
  • San Marino,
  • Serbia,
  • Somalia,
  • The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands.


Which countries were added to Ireland's mandatory hotel quarantine list on 15 April?

On 15 April, 16 more countries were added to Mandatory Hotel Quarantine in Ireland, including the Untied States and European countries.

  • Bangladesh,
  • Belgium,
  • France,
  • Italy,
  • Kenya,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Pakistan,
  • Turkey,
  • the USA,
  • Canada,
  • Armenia,
  • Bermuda,
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina,
  • Curaçao,
  • Maldives,
  • Ukraine.


Will I have to quarantine in a hotel if I go to Ireland?

The mandatory hotel quarantine applies to all passengers who arrive into Ireland from the designated 33 countries, or for anyone who has been in any of these countries within 14 days of their arrival into Ireland.

This means if you fly from, for example, Brazil to Heathrow and then into Dublin Airport, you will still have to quarantine, as you have been in an affected area within 14 days of arriving into Ireland.

The hotel quarantine also applies to anyone, from any country, who does not present a negative Covid-19 PCR test on arrival into Ireland, even if they have not been in one of the 33 'high risk' countries.

But everyone-- regardless of which country they are travelling from-- must restrict their movements at a named premises for 14 days when they arrive into Ireland. A passenger location form must be filled out before you arrive in Ireland stating your contact details and where you will be staying, and this may be checked by gardaí during this time.

Is my country on Ireland's hotel quarantine list?

As of now, just 33 countries are affected by the mandatory hotel quarantine-- however the list is subject to change, with more countries expected to be added in the coming months.

Opposition parties are also calling for mandatory hotel quarantine to be introduced for every passenger arriving into Ireland, regardless of which country they are arriving from.


You can read more about Ireland's hotel quarantine here.