Connacht name team for URC semi-final

Connacht name team for URC semi-final

Connnacht have named their team to for the URC Semi-Final against DHL Stormers in Cape Town on Saturday.

The Irish province have gone with a back three of Tiernan O'Halloran, John Porch, and Mack Hansen.

Tom Farrell and Bundee Aki start in midfield.

Jack Carty captains the side at outhalf alongside Caolin Blade at scrum half.

Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, and Finlay Bealham start in the front row.

Josh Murphy and Niall Murray provide cover in the second row.

Finally Shamus Hurley-Langton, Conor Oliver, and Cian Prendergast complete the side from the back row.

Director of Rugby Andy Friend says: “Last Friday night, to anyone outside the squad, we were the clear underdogs, and tomorrow will be no different. Yet for us on the inside, there is enormous belief in our ability, and that is all that matters.

"We enter the semi-final with the same 23 who started last week, which is great testament to our players’ toughness and resilience, and also to the work of our Athletic Performance & Medical Teams. All bodies are fit & healthy and have fully recovered from the travel down here to Cape Town.

"Tomorrow will be a huge game as we take on the defending champions in their own backyard, but these are the days you want to be involved in. Pete Wilkins and the other coaches have presented a very clever game plan, and with the confidence that's in the squad at present, there's genuine excitement about the challenge and opportunity that tomorrow brings."

Kick-off at 3pm Irish time

Fullback: 15. Tiernan O'Halloran
Winger: 14. John Porch
Centres: 13.Tom Farrell , 12. Bundee Aki
Winger: 11. Mack Hansen
Out half: 10 Jack Carty  Scrum half: 9.Caolin Blade
Front Row: 1. 1. Denis Buckley, 2. Dave Heffernan, 3. Finlay Bealham
Second Row: 4. Josh Murphy 5. Niall Murray
Back Row: 6.6. Shamus Hurley-Langton 7. Conor Oliver, 8. Cian Prendergast

Replacements: 16. Dylan Tierney-Martin, 17.Jordan Duggan, 18. Jack Aungier, 19. Oisín Dowling, 20. Jarrad Butler, 21. Kieran Marmion, 22. Tom Daly, 23. Byron Ralston