Choice Music Prize: Irish Song of the Year shortlist

Choice Music Prize: Irish Song of the Year shortlist

Delorentos, Glen Hansard and emerging Irish act Kodaline have been nominated for the Irish Song of the Year award as part of the Choice Music Prize.

The shortlist of ten was compiled by "a combination of songs selected by the Meteor Choice Music Prize judging panel and the Irish airplay charts compiled by Nielsen Music Control."

The winner will be announced on March 7 in Vicar Street alongside the Choice Prize winner itself for the album of the year.

The Irish Song of the Year nominees are:

The Coronas – Mark My Words (3U)

Delorentos - Care For (Delo Records)

Glen Hansard – High Hope (Plateau)

Heathers - Forget Me Knots (Warner)

Gavin James – Say Hello (Believe)

Kodaline - All I Want (Sony)

Le Galaxie feat Elaine Mai – Love System (Delphi)

The Script – Hall of Fame (Sony)

SOAK - ‘Sea Creatures (Self Release)

Villagers – The Waves (Domino)

The Choice Music Prize nominees for best album of 2012 were announced earlier this month.

They are:

[colored_box color="green"]

Wallis Bird – Wallis Bird (Rubyworks)

The Cast of Cheers – Family (Schoolboy Error)

Adrian Crowley – I See Three Birds Flying (Chemikal Underground)

Delorentos – Little Sparks (Delo Records)

Damien Dempsey – Almighty Love (Sony)

Julie Feeney – Clocks (Mittens)

Heathers – Kingdom (Warner Music)

Mumblin Deaf Ro – Dictionary Crimes (Popical Island)

Two Door Cinema Club – Beacon (Kitsuné)

Windings – I Am Not The Crow(Out On A Limb)