Derry v Monaghan: Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final preview

Derry v Monaghan: Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final preview

This weekend Derry takes on Monaghan in the Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final.

Here's a full preview of the game to come

Where is it on?

O'Neills Healy Park, Omagh

When is it on?

Sat, Apr 29, 2023

What time is it on?


What TV station is it on?

You can watch it on GAAGO

Can I stream it?

Yes here

Can I listen to it on the radio?

Yes here

Are there tickets still available

Yes here

What are the odds


Sean Hurson

What happened the last time the sides met in the Championship

15 May 2022: 3-12 - 0-17

Squads and scorers that day

Scorers for Derry: Shane McGuigan 0-7 (4f, 1m); Benny Heron 2-0; Gareth McKinless 1-0; Paul Cassidy 0-2; Niall Toner 0-1; Emmett Bradley 0-1; Niall Loughlin 0-1.

Scorers for Monaghan: Conor McManus 0-7 (5f); Jack McCarron 0-4 (3f, 1m); Dessie Ward 0-1; Ryan McAnespie 0-1; Niall Kearns 0-1; Andrew Woods 0-1; Conor McCarthy 0-1; Darren Hughes 0-1.

Derry: Odhrán Lynch; Pádraig McGrogan, Brendan Rogers, Chrissy McKaigue (Capt.); Gareth McKinless, Conor McCluskey, Conor Doherty; Conor Glass, Shea Downey; Paul Cassidy, Shane McGuigan, Ethan Doherty; Benny Heron, Niall Loughlin, Niall Toner.

Subs: Emmett Bradley for Loughlin (inj., 41); Pádraig Cassidy for C Doherty (61); Ben McCarron for Toner (67); Paul McNeill for Downey (72).

Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Conor Boyle, Kieran Duffy, Ryan Wylie (Capt.); Mícheál Bannigan, Dessie Ward, Conor McCarthy; Darren Hughes, Niall Kearns; Ryan McAnespie, Kieran Hughes, Shane Carey; Jack McCarron, Gary Mohan, Conor McManus.

Subs: Andrew Woods for Carey; Karl O’Connell for Bannigan (both 32); David Garland for K Hughes (55); Seán Jones for Mohan (61); Conor Leonard for Boyle (72).

How many Ulster Championships has each side won

Derry (8): 1958, 1970, 1975, 1976, 1987, 1993, 1998, 2022

Monaghan (16):1888, 1906, 1914, 1916, 1917, 1921, 1922,1927, 1929, 1930, 1938, 1979, 1985, 1988, 2013, 2015

Results in the Ulster Championship this year: 

Quarter-finals: Fermanagh 2–8 – 3–17 Derry

Quarter-finals: Tyrone 1–18 – 2–17 Monaghan

Teams for the game