England's Freddie Steward's red card has been overturned by an Independent Disciplinary Committee

England's Freddie Steward's red card has been overturned by an Independent Disciplinary Committee

IT HAS BEEN REPORTED TODAY THAT ENGLAND'S FREDDIE STEWARD HAS HAD his red card from the Ireland game on Saturday overturned. 

England and Ireland played the Grand Slam finale in the Aviva Stadium last weekend, and it was Ireland that came out on top in a 29-16 win, but the game was marred by a first-half red card for Steward. 

After a wayward pass by Ireland's Mack Hansen, Steward and opposite fullback Hugo Keenan both charged towards the ball. 

Keenan lost control of the ball and met the incoming England fullbacks' shoulder in a collision.  

Referee Jaco Peyper gave Steward his marching orders for the encounter after consulting the TMO at the time.  

Many people argued that Steward's role in the sending off was harsh and was not done with intent to hurt Keenan. 

The Leinster fullback had to be taken off for HIA and was replaced by Jimmy O'Brien for the rest of the game.  

The Statement

Steward faced a disciplinary hearing on Tuesday night and has been cleared of a red card

The statement from the Independent Disciplinary Committee read: "England fullback Freddie Steward appeared before an independent Disciplinary Committee via video link having received a red card in the Guinness Six Nations match between Ireland and England on Saturday 18th March 2023 played at the Aviva Stadium." 

The Red Card was issued as a result of the Referee concluding that the Player had acted contrary to Law 9.13 (A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the line of the shoulders even if the tackle starts below the line of the shoulders), 

The independent Disciplinary Committee consisting of Nigel Hampton KC – Chair (New Zealand), Frank Hadden (Scotland) and John Langford (Australia) heard the case, and considered all the available evidence, including multiple broadcast angles and submissions from the Player and his representative.  

"After hearing the submissions, the Disciplinary Committee formally amended the Law which was breached to Law 9.11 (Players must not do anything that is reckless or dangerous to others including leading with the elbow or forearm, or jumping into, or over, a tackler.)  

The panel went onto to say that after reviewing all the evidence Steward was free to play again, but it was a yellow card 

"The player denied that he had committed an act of foul play worthy of a red card as described in Law 9.11. Having reviewed all the evidence, the Committee decided that: 

"(i) head contact with an opposing player had occurred; 

"(ii) there had been an act of foul play in breach of Law 9.11 in that the Player had been reckless in his actions and in his upright positioning as he approached and came into highly dangerous contact with the other player; 

"(iii) there were sufficient mitigating factors including the late change in the dynamics and positioning of the opposing player which should have resulted in the issue of a yellow card rather than a red card. 

"On that basis, the Committee did not uphold the red card and the player is free to play again immediately." 

"The Committee acknowledged that match officials are required to make decisions under pressure and in the heat of a live match environment." 

Steward is now free to play for Leicester Tigers in the Gallagher Premiership against the Bristol Bears on Sunday.