Ireland squad announced for World Cup Qualifier clash with Denmark

Ireland squad announced for World Cup Qualifier clash with Denmark

MARTIN O' Neill has named his extended 34 man squad to face the Danes in next months World Cup play-off, with some notable inclusions and exclusions alike.

Burnley striker Jonathan Walters is the main absentee having suffered a knee injury with his club, while Seamus Coleman remains out of action following his double leg-break.

Jonathan Walters of Republic of Ireland during the FIFA World Cup Qualifier Group D match between Republic of Ireland and Serbia at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin. Via Getty Images.

Elsewhere, Hull City's David Meyler, who acted as captain in recent games, misses out due to a one-match suspension, however, it's good news for midfielder James McCarthy who is included after making an appearance for Everton in their Carabao Cup tie against Chelsea last night.

James McCarthy of Everton and Danny Drinkwater of Chelsea in action during the Carabao Cup Fourth Round match between Chelsea and Everton at Stamford Bridge on October 25, 2017 in London, England. Via Getty Images.

Here's the squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Colin Doyle (Bradford City)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Paul McShane (Reading), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Daryl Horgan, Alan Browne (Preston North End), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), James McCarthy (Everton), Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), David Meyler (Hull City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Jonny Hayes (Celtic), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall)

The boys in green will make the trip to Copenhagen on Saturday, 11th November, before returning for the home leg at the Aviva stadium three days later.