Keenan returns to the Ireland side for the English clash in Twickenham

Keenan returns to the Ireland side for the English clash in Twickenham

The Irish team to face England in the latest round of the Six Nations was announced today. The Irish have received a huge boost thanks to Hugo Keenan's inclusion.

The Leinster fullback missed the last game due to injury but will now replace Ciaran Frawley at 15. He starts alongside Calvin Nash and James Lowe in the back three.

Gary Ringrose is fit but does not make the squad. This means that Robbie Henshaw and Bundee Aki retain their positions in midfield.

Jack Crowley and Jamison Gibson-Park unsuprisingly keep their places as Ireland's halfbacks.

In the front pack, the familiar trio of Andrew Porter,Dan Sheehan, and Tadhg Furlong also start. The engine room consists of emerging Irish star Joe McCarthy and veteran Tadhg Beirne.

Peter O'Mahony captains the side. Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris also feature in the backrow.

The Ireland coaching team has selected a 6-2 split on the bench, as Ronan Kelleher, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson, Ryan Baird and Jack Conan provide the reinforcements in the pack.

Backs Conor Murray and Frawley complete Ireland’s Match Day 23 to face England.

Ireland vs England takes place in March (Photo By Seb Daly/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

England have also announced their team for the clash. There are three changes to the starting side that took on Scotland in round three. Steve Borthwick has gone with the back three of George Furbank, Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, and Tommy Freeman.

Henry Slade and Ollie Lawrence start as England's centre partnership.  George Ford starts at fly-half , and Alex Mitchell starts at scrum-half

In the front pack Ellis Genge, Jamie George,and  Dan Cole start in the front row Maro Itoje and George Martin start as the country's locks.  In the back row Ollie Chessum,  Sam Underhill, and Ben Earl complete the side

Winger Elliot Daly and scrum-half Danny Care  drop to the bench

The game in Twickenham starts at 4.45 on Saturday and will be broadcast ITV (UK) and RTÉ (ROI)

England team to face Ireland: 


15. George Furbank, Fullback 14. Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, Wing 11. Tommy Freeman, Wing

13. Henry Slade, Outside Centre 12. Ollie Lawrence, Inside Centre

11. Tommy Freeman, Wing

10. George Ford, fly-half (vice captain) 9. Alex Mitchell, Scrum-half


1. Ellis Genge, Loosehead Prop (vice captain) 2. Jamie George, Hooker (captain) 3. Dan Cole, Tighthead Prop

4. Maro Itoje: Lock (vice captain) 5. George Martin: Lock

6. Ollie Chessum, Blindside Flanker 7. Sam Underhill, Openside Flanker 8. Ben Earl, Number Eight

Replacements: Theo Dan, Replacement Hooker Joe Marler, Replacement Prop. Will Stuart: Replacement Prop Chandler Cunningham-South: Replacement Lock Alex Dombrandt, Replacement Forward Danny Care, Replacement Scrum-half Marcus Smith, Replacement Fly-half Elliot Daly, Replacement Back

Ireland's team to face England:


15. Hugo Keenan fullback 14. Calvin Nash, Wing 11. James Lowe, Wing

13. Robbie Henshaw, Outside Centre 12. Bundee Aki, Inside Centre

10. Jack Crowley fly-half 9. Jamison Gibson-Park, Scrum-half


1. Andrew Porter, Prop 2. Dan Sheehan, Hooker 3. Tadhg Furlong, Prop

4. Joe McCarthy: Lock 5. Tadhg Beirne: Lock

6. Peter O’Mahony, Blindside Flanker (captain) 7. Josh van der Flier, Openside Flanker 8. Caelan Doris, Number Eight


Ronan Kelleher, Replacement Hooker Cian Healy, Replacement Prop Finlay Bealham: Replacement Prop Iain Henderson, Replacement Lock Ryan Baird, Replacement Forward Jack Conan, Replacement Forward Conor Murray, Replacement Scrum-half Ciaran Frawley, Replacement Back