Munster name side to face Dragons in Cork

Munster name side to face Dragons in Cork

Munster have announced their lineup for Saturday's URC round three clash against Dragons at Musgrave Park, with seven changes made by Graham Rowntree. 

Alex Nankivell and Seán O’Brien will start for the first time ever. Rory Scannell will play at inside centre, while Nankivell will feature at outside centre. O’Brien will make his debut on the wing. Shane Daly will start at full-back, and Calvin Nash will be on the other wing.

Tony Butler will start at fly-half (number 10), while Craig Casey will play at scrumhalf (number 9).

In the forwards, John Ryan, Tom Ahern, and Alex Kendellen have been included in the lineup, with Ryan making his first start since returning from the Chiefs. Edwin Edogbo and Tom Ahern will start as the locks. Captain Jack O’Donoghue, Kendellen, and Gavin Coombes complete the forward lineup.

Scott Buckley, Mark Donnelly, and Stephen Archer will supply front-row backup, while Ruadhán Quinn and Brian Gleeson will complete the forward cover.

On the bench for the backline replacements are Paddy Patterson, Jack Crowley, and Ben O’Connor.

On injury news, Joey Carbery, who sustained a wrist injury against Benetton, will undergo surgery next week after visiting a specialist.

Assistant Coach Mike Prendergast emphasised the team's need for improvement following their draw with Benetton last week, saying, "We have given our feedback, and now we want to move forward and focus on what the Dragons will bring. We are aware that we need to perform much better in the first 40 minutes, which is something we have discussed. We must begin the game with strength this weekend and maintain our performance."

The game is scheduled to kick off at 5:15pm.


Fullback: 15 Shane Daly;

Winger: 14. Seán O’Brien

Centres: 13. Alex Nankivell, 12 Rory Scannell,

Winger 11: Calvin Nash;

Outhalf: 1o Tony Butler, Scrumhalf: 9 Craig Casey

Front row 1 Kieran Ryan, 2. Diarmuid Barron, 3. John Ryan;

Second row: 4 Edwin Edogbo, 5. Tom Ahern

Back row 6. Jack O’Donoghue (C), 7. Alex Kendellen, 8. Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Mark Donnelly, Stephen Archer, Ruadhán Quinn, Brian Gleeson, Paddy Patterson, Jack Crowley, Ben O’Connor.