Which countries have been added to the UK Green List for travel?

Which countries have been added to the UK Green List for travel?

THE PEOPLE of Ireland are still encouraged not to travel abroad and instead to organise a 'staycation' on the Emerald Isle for the second year running.

But for our neighbours in the United Kingdom, holidays are back on the cards as the British Government update the 'Green List' which would mean passengers would not have a to quarantine on their return.

Recently the Green list caused mass confusion for holidaymakers in Portugal after the sunny country was removed from the Green List just days after being added-- forcing thousands abroad to either cut their holiday short or quarantine for 10 days when they arrive home.

But now hope is on the rise again as multiple countries have been added to the Green List again, including some popular tourist spots.


Which countries have been added to the UK Green List for travel?

Multiple countries and districts have been added to the Green List from 30 June, although most have been added to a 'Green Watch List' which means they are in danger of becoming Amber List countries-- where returning passengers will have to quarantine-- at any point.

Only Malta is strongly in the Green List, with the island have a 7-day average of just 2 cases.

From 30 June, the areas being added to the UK Green  List are:

  • Anguilla
  • Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Balearic islands (Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca)
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Madeira
  • Malta
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Malta is among the countries now on the UK's Green List for travel

Which countries were already on the UK Green List?

Some countries have been on the UK Green List for some time, although some are inacessible for holidays-- including New Zealand, whose extremely strict border security has helped allow the country to avoid the worst of the pandemic.

The countries already on the UK Green List for travel are:

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem (on the Green Watchlist, in danger of becoming Amber)
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha


What is the Green Watchlist?

The UK's Green watchlist refers to countries or districts where Covid cases are rising or a new variant of concern has been detected.

Experts watch these areas closely, and could change their status from Green to Amber at any time, meaning passengers will have to quarantine on their return to the UK.