Irish businesswomen among Europe's Most Inspiring in Tech

Irish businesswomen among Europe's Most Inspiring in Tech

TWO Irish businesswomen have been named amongst the Most Inspiring Women in European Tech.

Co-founder and general partner at Atlantic Bridge Capital, Elaine Coughlan, and CEO of Anam, Louise O’Sullivan, have been recognised in the Inspiring Fifty list.

It honours women in leadership positions within the technology sector, including entrepreneurs, business leaders, academics and policy-makers.

Coughlan has supported technology businesses in Ireland, Europe and the US and serves as non-executive director on the board of several Irish software companies.

Meanwhile, O’Sullivan is in charge of a company that provides software for mobile network operators.


Last year, the Inspiring Fifty programme highlighted the top 50 women in business and technology in the Netherlands, but has now extended its reach across Europe.

In total 16 countries were represented, with the British  leading the list with 17 finalists, followed by France with nine and Germany with six.

“Many women in tech seeking female role models currently look towards the most visible, the headline-makers, like Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg and Yahoo’s Marissa Meyer,” said Inspiring Fifty co-founder Janneke Niessen.

“However, as amazing as those women are, we felt there was a need to showcase the many accomplished, and all-too-often overlooked women in technology closer to home.”

Meanwhile two businesswomen from Ireland have also been announced as finalists in the 2015 FDM Everywoman in Technology Awards - an initiative in Britain celebrating women in the industry.

Belfast-native Patricia O’Hagan, CEO of Core Systems, was shortlisted for Entrepreneur of the Year, whilst Director of VMware International Ltd, Karen Egan from Cork, was nominated for International Leader of the Year.

London-based Sinéad Brophy, who is University College of Dublin educated, was also named in the 30-strong list of high achievers, in the Innovator of the Year category.


The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony on the March 17 in London.