Andy Farrell has been named Coach of the Year

Andy Farrell has been named Coach of the Year

At the World Rugby Awards Ceremony on Sunday night, Ireland's Andy Farrell was named Coach of the Year, triumphing over fellow nominees Jacques Nienaber, Ian Foster, and Fiji's Simon Raiwalui.

Farrell's accolade came in recognition of his outstanding achievements, including a Six Nations Grand Slam, securing the top spot in the World Rugby Men’s Rankings, and leading Ireland to a remarkable 17-game winning streak, which included victories against rugby powerhouses New Zealand, England, and South Africa over the last 18 months. 

Expressing his gratitude, Farrell said, “I would like to thank World Rugby for this recognition and congratulate the other nominees for their efforts this year. Coaching is a demanding and hugely rewarding profession, with many highs and lows, and in accepting this award, I would like to pay tribute to the players and wider coaching and support staff who work tirelessly to bring success to Irish rugby.

"I am incredibly proud to work with such a talented and committed group. This award is recognition for all those involved in Irish rugby and our incredible supporters who travel near and far to support us. I am honoured to accept this award on their behalf.”

In addition to Farrell's success, five Irish players were included in the Men’s Dream Team: Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong, and Caelan Doris in the forward pack, and Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose in the backline. Five French players, including Cyrille Baille, Charles Ollivon, Antoine Dupont, Thomas Ramos, and Damien Penaud, were also named in the Dream Team. Eben Etzebeth from the World Cup-winning Springboks was recognized in the second row, and four New Zealanders—Ardie Savea, Scott Barrett, Will Jordan, and Richie Mo'unga completed the team. 

Savea, the All-Black back row, was awarded the Player of the Year gong, prevailing over competitors Bundee Aki, Antoine Dupont, and Eben Etzebeth. 

Additionally, David McHugh from Limerick received the World Rugby Referee Award, acknowledging his distinguished career spanning more than 20 years, during which he officiated 28 tests and took part in three Rugby World Cups between 1995 and 2003. 

World Rugby Men’s XVs Dream Team

1. Cyril Baille (France) 2. Dan Sheehan (Ireland) 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) 4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa) 5. Scott Barrett (New Zealand) 6. Caelan Doris (Ireland) 7. Charles Ollivon (France) 8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand) 9. Antoine Dupont (France) 10. Richie Mo’unga (New Zealand) 11. Will Jordan (New Zealand) 12. Bundee Aki (Ireland) 13. Garry Ringrose (Ireland) 14. Damian Penaud (France) 15. Thomas Ramos (France).

World Rugby Award Winners

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in partnership with Mastercard – Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

World Rugby Coach of the Year – Andy Farrell (Ireland)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor – Mark Tele’a (New Zealand)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in partnership with HSBC – Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in partnership with HSBC – Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)

World Rugby Referee Award – David McHugh (Ireland)

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – George Nijaradze (Georgia)

Rugby for All Award – SOS Kit Aid

International Rugby Players Special Merit Award – John Smit (South Africa)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year – Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland)

World Rugby Hall of Fame inductees: Daniel Carter (New Zealand), Thierry Dusautoir (France), George Smith (Australia), Juan Martín Hernández (Argentina), Bryan Habana (South Africa).