ICYMI: Here's the 2023 GAA Football All Stars team

ICYMI: Here's the 2023 GAA Football All Stars team

The PwC Football All-Stars team was announced on Friday night. As expected, Dublin and Kerry dominated the team selection. All-Ireland winners Dublin had five players included, while beaten finalists Kerry had four players included.  

Dublin's older trio of Stephen Cluxton, Michael Fitzsimons and James McCarthy were included for their efforts. They were joined by Brian Fenton and Colm Basquel to.  

Kerry's David Clifford, Tom O’Sullivan, Paudie Clifford, and Seán O’Shea also got the nod on the night.  

Derry like Kerry also had four players included. Brendan Rodgers, Gareth McKinless, Conor McCluskey Shane McGuigan were also included in the team. The final spots went to Monaghan's Conor McCarthy and Roscommon's Enda Smith.  

In other award news, David Clifford also won Footballer of the Year on the night. The PwC Young Hurler of the Year went to Clare’s Mark Rodgers, while Derry’s Ethan Doherty received the Young Footballer of the Year award. 

Congratulating the winners on Friday, Uachtarán CLG, Larry McCarthy said: "In being chosen from the stellar short list of nominees these players are being recognised for their exceptional contribution to a great football season. In selecting David Clifford as PwC Footballer of the Year and Aaron Gillane as PwC Hurler of the Year, the playing body have also crowned the players they deem the best of the best, while Ethan Doherty and Mark Rodgers are deserving recipients of the Young Players of the Year awards. Our thanks to PwC for their support in maintaining the iconic tradition that are the All-Stars.” 

PwC Football All-Stars 2023 

(Previous winning years in brackets) 

  1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin) (2002, 2006, 2007, 2011, 2013, 2019) 
  1. Conor McCluskey (Derry) 
  1. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) (2017, 2019, 2020) 
  1. Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry) (2019, 2021) 
  1. James McCarthy (Dublin) (2014, 2017, 2018, 2020) 
  1. Gareth McKinless (Derry) 
  1. Conor McCarthy (Monaghan) 
  1. Brian Fenton (Dublin) (2015, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2020) 
  1. Brendan Rogers (Derry) 
  1. Paudie Clifford (Kerry) (2021, 2022) 
  1. Seán O’Shea (Kerry) (2019, 2022) 
  1. Enda Smith (Roscommon) 
  1. David Clifford (Kerry) (2018, 2019, 2021, 2022) 
  1. Shane McGuigan (Derry) 
  1. Colm Basquel (Dublin) 

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year – David Clifford (Kerry) 

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year – Ethan Doherty (Derry) 

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year – Aaron Gillane (Limerick) 

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year – Mark Rodgers (Clare)