Irish Post reporter nominated for SJA award

Irish Post reporter nominated for SJA award

IRISH POST reporter Nemesha Balasundaram has been nominated for the Sports Journalists Association Young Sports Writer of the Year award.

The winner will be revealed in London on Monday in front of 400 people at the 2015 British Sports Journalism Awards, which are being held at the Grand Connaught Rooms.

Nemesha’s work has been recognised alongside that of journalists from the Daily Mail, London Evening Standard, BBC Sport, The Times and Telegraph.

“Nemesha is a promising young journalist whose passion for sport shines through  and we’re thrilled that she has been nominated for the Young Sports Writer Award at this year’s British Sports Journalism Awards,” said Irish Post Editor Siobhán Breatnach.

“As the paper celebrates 45 years in 2015, Nemesha brings a fresh and vibrant voice to The Irish Post’s sports coverage and we wish her the very best of luck at next week’s awards ceremony.”

This year was a record year for entries to the Sports Journalism Awards, with new categories being added for cricket, football, and rugby writers.


Tom Clarke, the chairman of the judges, said: “The awards are growing in popularity and in prestige. We had a record 231 entries – every national newspaper title was represented – and there was strong support from regional newspapers, specialist journals, freelances and sports websites.

“We had a total of 84 judges spread over the 14 categories. The panel of judges included 48 active sports journalists, three former national newspaper editors and a dozen who have starred or are still starring in top-level sport. Between them, they have studied more than 1,000 pieces of work – and I salute them for their diligence and expertise.”

Young Sports Writer nominees

Nemesha Balasundaram – The Irish Post
Adam Crafton – Daily Mail
Tom Farmery – London Evening Standard
James Gheerbrant – BBC Sport / The Times
Jack Gaughan – Daily Mail
Daniel Johnson – Telegraph
Tim Wigmore – Freelance