Match Preview | Portugal v Ireland

Match Preview | Portugal v Ireland

Republic of Ireland will look to secure back-to-back wins in the June window when they face Portugal in Aveiro tomorrow night.

Ireland secured an impressive 2-1 win over Hungary in their last match thanks to Troy Parrott's last-minute winner after Adam Idah headed home the opener in the first-half, which was then cancelled out by Ádám Lang just before the break.

John O'Shea's Ireland side will be looking to build on the win as they prepare to face Portugal, who are playing their last match before heading to the UEFA EURO 2024 finals tournaments in Germany.

Match Details

Fixture: Portugal v Republic of Ireland
Competition: International Friendly
Date: Tuesday, June 11
Kick-off: 7.45pm
Location: Aveiro Municipal Stadium

Match Officials

Referee: Chris Kavanagh (ENG)
Assistant Referee 1: Simon Bennett (ENG)
Assistant Referee 2: James Mainwaring (ENG)
Video Assistant Referee: Jarred Gillett (ENG)
Assistant Video Assistant Referee: Lee Betts (ENG)

Team News

John O'Shea has reported a clean bill of health for the Republic of Ireland squad ahead of the international friendly against Portugal. All players trained on MD-1 at Gondomar FC, with striker Tom Cannon in contention to make his Ireland debut and Jake O'Brien making his first start after his impressive performance against Hungary.

Josh Culllen on the previous 2-1 defeat to Portugal: "Yeah, obviously, conceding two late goals against an opposition as good as Portugal was a tough one to take.

"We played really well and there are certainly lessons we can learn from that, We were penned back in during the second-half and sometimes you're able to hang on in there and get the result.

"When the opposition has players the quality of Portugal has, you could get punished at any opportunity. Definitely learn some lessons from that game and hopefully build on what was a positive performance."

Republic of Ireland Squad: Portugal

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), Max O'Leary (Bristol City), and David Harrington (Fleetwood Town).
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Shane Duffy (Norwich City), Dara O'Shea (Burnley), Jake O'Brien (Lyon), Liam Scales (Celtic), Robbie Brady (Preston North End), and Enda Stevens (Stoke City).
Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Burnley), Finn Azaz (Middlesbrough), Jason Knight (Bristol City), Jamie McGrath (Aberdeen), Callum O'Dowda (Cardiff City), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Mark Sykes (Bristol City), and Mikey Johnston (West Bromwich Albion, on loan from Celtic).
Forwards: Sammie Szmodics (Blackburn Rovers), Adam Idah (Celtic, on loan from Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Excelsior, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Obafemi (Millwall, on loan from Burnley), Tom Cannon (Leicester City).