Munster have named their team to face Benetton in the URC, Niall Scannell will captain Munster for the second time

Munster have named their team to face Benetton in the URC, Niall Scannell will captain Munster for the second time

MUNSTER HAVE NAMED THEIR TEAM TO FACE ITALIAN rugby side Benetton in the United Rugby Championship this afternoon 

The game will kick off 2.30pm Irish time, and can be seen live on TG4 & Premier Sports 

Graham Rowntree will be without several first-choice players for the game, as the likes of Tadgh Beirne, Gavin Coombes and others have joined Andy Farrell's Six Nations side for the upcoming campaign. 

Joey Carbery, who did not make the Ireland squad starts for Munster at 10. He is joined by Paddy Patterson at scrum half.  

A back three of Shane Daly at fullback and Calvin Nash and Liam Coombes start as Rowntree's first choice wingers. 

The talented Antoine Frisch and Malakai Fekitoa start as a centre pairing for the Irish province.  

The front pack consists of Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell as captain, and Roman Salanoa in the front row. 

In the engine room Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley get the second-row nod 

The team is completed by a trio of Jack O’Sullivan, the excellent John Hodnett, and Alex Kendellen 

The teams in full look like this 


Fullback: 15.Shane Daly

Winger: 14.  Calvin Nash

Centres 13.Antoine Frisch 12. Malakai Fekitoa

Winger: 11. Liam Coombes

Out half: 10 Joey Carbery , Scrum half 9. Paddy Patterson

Front row: 1. Josh Wycherley, 2. Niall Scannell (C), 3. Roman Salanoa

Second row: 4. Jean Kleyn, 5. Fineen Wycherley

Back row: 6. Jack O’Sullivan, 7. John Hodnett, 8. Alex Kendellen.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Mark Donnelly, Stephen Archer, Cian Hurley, Ruadhan Quinn, Neil Cronin, Ben Healy, Rory Scannell.


Fullback: 15 Rhyno Smith
Winger: 14 Ignacio Mendy
Centres: 13 Marco Zanon, 12 Filippo Drago
Wingers: 11 Mattia Bellini
Outhallf : 10 Jacob Umaga  Scrum half 9 Dewaldt Duvenage
Front Row: 1 Nahuel Tetaz, 2 Siua Maile, 3 Tiziano Pasquali
Second Row: 4 Marco Lazzaroni  5 Riccardo Favretto
Back Row: 6 Giovanni Pettinelli7 Alessandro Izekor 8 Henry Time-Stowers

Replacements: 16 Bautista Bernasconi, 17 Thomas Gallo 18 Filippo Alongi 19 Nicola Piantella  20 Carl Wegner  21 Braam Steyn 22 Manfredi Albanese  23 Marcus Watson