Munster name squad for Zebre clash

Munster name squad for Zebre clash

The Munster squad for their upcoming BKT URC clash with Zebre tomorrow evening includes Ireland internationals Craig Casey and Jeremy Loughman. Casey, who started against Italy in round two of the Guinness Six Nations, and Loughman, who made a significant impact as a replacement in the 36-0 win, are set to feature at Cork's Virgin Media Park.

Ireland training panellist Tom Ahern will start the game, while Loughman will be among the replacements.

Coach Graham Rowntree has also included four academy players in the squad. Tony Butler and Ruadhán Quinn will start, while Ethan Coughlan and Ben O’Connor are returning from the Ireland U20s.

Alex Kendellen will captain the team The new half-back pairing of Butler and Casey, along with the dynamic front-row duo of Josh Wycherley and John Ryan, also starts.

Mike Haley starts in the full-back position, supported by Seán O’Brien and Shane Daly on the wings. Antoine Frisch will partner with Alex Nankivell in the centre.

The forward pack sees Ahern and RG Snyman in the engine room, supported by Wycherley, Niall Scannell, and Ryan in the front row. Quinn, Kendellen, and Gavin Coombes complete the forward lineup.

The replacements include Eoghan Clarke, Loughman, and Stephen Archer in the front row, with Fineen Wycherley and Jack O’Sullivan providing additional cover. Coughlan, Rory Scannell, and O’Connor are poised to make an impact as backline replacements.

Joey Carbery will miss the game due to a slight knock picked up in training.

The game kicks off at 7.35 p.m.

Munster: Mike Haley; Seán O'Brien, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Shane Daly; Tony Butler, Craig Casey; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Tom Ahern, RG Snyman; Ruadhán Quinn , Alex Kendellen (capt), Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Eoghan Clarke, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Sullivan, Ethan Coughlan, Rory Scannell, Ben O’Connor.