Team news: Louise Quinn starts, Sheva dropped for Canada clash

Team news: Louise Quinn starts, Sheva dropped for Canada clash

Louise Quinn has been declared fit to play in the Republic of Ireland's match against Canada at Perth Rectangular Stadium, with Lucy Quinn taking the place of Marissa Sheva in the only change made by Vera Pauw.

This week Louise Quinn's availability for the World Cup Group B clash was uncertain after she suffered a foot injury during the match against Australia last Thursday. However, she participated in a full training session on Tuesday evening and showed enough progress to warrant a start. She starts as one of Ireland's centrebacks.

While Heather Payne faced concerns about a tight hamstring after the same training session, she has also been given the green light to play. Completing the five-player backline are Niamh Fahey, Megan Connolly, and captain Katie McCabe.

Marissa Sheva, who was responsible for conceding the penalty that decided the last week's game against the Matildas, has been replaced by Lucy Quinn. Lucy Quinn will now join Denise O'Sullivan, Sinead Farrelly, and Ruesha Littlejohn in the midfield. Kyra Carusa remains the leading forward for Ireland. Courtney Brosnan retains her spot in goal.

Earlier this week Canadian boss Bev Priestman described Ireland as a 'horrible team to play against'

"(They are a) horrible team to play against, and that’s what we pride ourselves on, so we one million per cent have to match that first," said the Canada head coach in a press conference.

“And they know that about Canada too. It’s probably a two-way street.

“Ultimately we have to stay with the process and what we think it will take to beat this Irish team, and stay clear-headed because there are parts of the Irish team where if you’re not careful you can be drawn into that, and it can take you down a route that can take you off-task."

The game kicks-off at 1pm Irish time.

The match will be officiated by referee Laura Fortunato from Argentina.

The confirmed lineups for the match are as follows:

Republic of Ireland: Courtney Brosnan; Heather Payne, Niamh Fahey, Louise Quinn, Megan Connolly, Katie McCabe; Lucy Quinn, Denise O'Sullivan, Sinead Farrelly, Ruesha Littlejohn; Kyra Carusa

Canada: Kailen Sheridan; Kadeisha Buchanan, Jayde Riviere, Ashley Lawrence, Vanessa Gilles; Quinn, Julia Grosso, Jessie Fleming; Jordyn Huitema, Adriana Leon, Evelyne Veins