Ireland's Eurovision entry to be decided tonight

Ireland's Eurovision entry to be decided tonight

IRELAND IS to decide its Eurovision 2022 entry tonight, with six hopefuls vying for the win to represent the country in Italy next May.

The Late Late Show Eurosong 2022 Special takes place at 9.35pm, with RTÉ issuing a callout for artists and songwriters last autumn.

Six songs will be performed tonight, having been chosen from over 300 entries.

The combined votes of the public, an international jury and studio jury will decide the fates of the singers and writers.

Eurovision stalwart, commentator Marty Whelan will be on hand as our Green Room correspondent, capturing all the backstage action, throughout the show.

An interval performance from Riverdance will take place, who first performed their iconic dance line in a spine-tingling routing at Eurovision back in 1994.

Ireland still holds the record for most Eurovision wins, with a tally of seven victories at the contest. Ireland first entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 1965, and famously won four out of five contests in the 1990s and became the first country to win three times in a row.

The chosen winner on Friday night will go on to represent Ireland at the competition in Turin in May, with Ireland drawn to perform in the second semi-final of the competition, bidding to qualify. Italian rock band Måneskin, winners of the 2021 Eurovision Song Contest, have gone on to enjoy worldwide chart success since winning the competition, with Zitti e buoni, their winning song, garnering more than 200 million streams on Spotify since their win in Rotterdam.


So who are the hopefuls performing tonight? Read below to find out and give the songs a listen


Song 1: One Night, One Kiss, One Promise

Artist: Patrick O'Sullivan
Composers: Nicky Byrne, Lar Kaye, Danny O'Reilly


Song 2: Ashes of Yesterday

Artist: Janet Grogan
Composers: Aidan O Connor, John Emil, Sandra Wikström


Song 3: Real Love

Artist: Brendan Murray
Composers: Brendan Murray & Darrell Coyle


Song 4: Yeah We're Gonna Get Out Of It

Artist: Miles Graham
Composers: Miles Graham Miley, Justin Broad, Paul Herman


Song 5: I'm Loving Me

Artist: Rachel Goode
Composers: Joakim Övrenius, Thomas Karlsson, Johan Mauritzson, Anna Eng


Song 6: That's Rich

Artist: Brooke Scullion
Composers: Brooke Scullion, Karl Zine, Izzy Warner