Irish Government ministers to visit 27 countries for St Patrick’s Day - and Enda Kenny's off to see Trump

Irish Government ministers to visit 27 countries for St Patrick’s Day - and Enda Kenny's off to see Trump

IRELAND’S Government has announced the list of destinations for ministers travelling as part of the St Patrick's Day programme to promote Ireland overseas.

Under-fire Taoiseach Enda Kenny will be visiting Donald Trump in the White House on March 17, according to the Government’s “Promote Ireland” initiative announced by Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Charlie Flanagan TD, on Tuesday.

The Taoiseach, Tánaiste and 27 Government ministers will take part in more than 100 business events and high-level political meetings in over 50 cities in 27 countries across Europe, the Americas, Asia, the Pacific, and the Middle East to “shine a spotlight” on Ireland and its potential.

Visiting Britain will be Minister for Education and skills Richard Bruton.

“The St. Patrick’s Day period is a time to renew the important links between Ireland and the global Irish abroad.  From Asia to the Americas, we come together each St Patrick’s Day to share in the pride and memory of our common heritage and affinity,” said Charlie Flanagan.


“This year St. Patrick’s Day falls in a month of critical importance, with the expected triggering of Article 50 by the UK and the beginning of its formal negotiations to leave the EU.

“It is essential that Irish Ministers continue to highlight Ireland’s priorities to Member State governments throughout Europe, building on the important work that has already taken place.”

Here’s the full list of destinations for ministers this St Patrick’s Day:

Taoiseach Enda Kenny – USA (Washington DC; New York City)

Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald – USA (San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego)

Minister Richard Bruton – Britain

Minister Michael Creed – Germany (Munich; Stuttgart; Cologne; Berlin)


Minister Leo Varadkar – France

Minister Charlie Flanagan – Italy (Milan; Rome)

Minister Heather Humphreys – Sweden & Denmark (Stockholm & Copenhagen)

Minister Michael Noonan – Malaysia/Singapore

Minister Simon Coveney – Canada (Toronto)

Minister Katherine Zappone – USA (Boston, Seattle)

Minister Mary Mitchell O’Connor – USA (St. Louis; Chicago; New York City)


Minister Paschal Donohoe – Japan/Korea

Chief Whip Regina Doherty – United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi; Dubai)

Minister of State Finian McGrath – Scotland (Edinburgh)

Minister of State John Halligan – Brazil (Brasilia; Rio; Sao Paolo)

Minister of State Paul Kehoe – Lebanon (UNIFIL mission)

Minister of State David Stanton – Indonesia, Western Australia (Jakarta; Perth)

Minister of State Dara Murphy – Spain


Minister of State Marcella Corcoran Kennedy – Hungary; Czech Republic (Budapest, Prague)

Minister of State Damien English – Poland

Minister of State Andrew Doyle – The Netherlands, Belgium

Minister of State Joe McHugh – USA (New York City, Philadelphia/Tristate area)

Minister of State Michael Ring – USA (Fort Lauderdale, Miami, Atlanta, Savannah)

Minister of State Helen McEntee – Argentina

Minister of State Pat Breen – USA (Austin)


Minister of State Eoghan Murphy – Canada (Toronto; Montreal)

Minister of State Patrick O’Donovan – East Coast Australia; New Zealand

Minister of State Sean Kyne – USA (Cleveland; Dublin; Columbus)