Details for Ireland's U20s Six Nations game against the France U20s tonight

Details for Ireland's U20s Six Nations game against the France U20s tonight

THE IRELAND U20's take on the French U20's in Musgrave Park Cork tonight.  

Both sides won their opening game of the underage tournament but had contrasting evenings.  

France narrowly beat the Italy U20's 28-27 in an away game, while Ireland beat the Wales U20's 27-44 in the same weekend.  

Ritchie Murphy's side are the current Grand Slam champions but will have to overcome a strong French side if they are to have any chance of keeping their crown. 

Here's a preview of the game tonight 

Dublin , Ireland - 18 January 2023; Head coach Richie Murphy during a Ireland U20s squad announcement and media day at PwC offices in Dublin. (Photo By Ben McShane/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Where is it on? 

Musgrave Park, Ireland

When is it on?

20:00 Irish time tonight

What TV station

RTE 2.

What time does coverage start


What happened last time

Ireland beat the French U20's 16- 17 last year 

Ireland's record against France

Ireland and France have played each other 20 times. France have 12 times, while Ireland have won 8

Who are match officials

Referee: Angus Mabey (NZR)
Assistant Referee 1: Anthony Woodthorpe (RFU)
Assistant Referee 2: Ben Blain (SRU)
TMO: David Rose (RFU)

Ireland captain

Gus McCarthy

Ireland head coach

Ritchie Murphy

Ireland team

Ireland head coach Ritchie Murphy have made one change to the team that beat Wales in the opening round.  

Henry McErlean comes in at full back. Ike Anagu and Hugh Gavi start on the wings.  

Gus McCarthy, once again captains Ireland from the front row. He's joined in the front pack by George Hadden and Paddy McCarthy.  

Hugh Cooney and John Devine start as a midfield partnership.  

Sam Prendergast and Fintan Gunne start at 10 and 9.

Diarmuid Mangan and Conor O’Tighearnaigh start in the second row.  

James McNabney, Ruadhán Quinn and Brian Gleeson get the nod in the back row. 

Ireland U20s: 

Fullback 15. Henry McErlean (UCD/Leinster) 

Winger: 14. Ike Anagu (La Rochelle/IQ Rugby) 

Centres: 13. Hugh Cooney (Clontarf/Leinster), 12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht) 

Winger: 11. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht) 

Out half: 10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster) Scrum half: 9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure/Leinster) 

Front row: 1. George Hadden (Clontarf/Leinster), 2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (captain), 3. Paddy McCarthy (DUFC/Leinster) 

Second Row: 4. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster) 5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD/Leinster) 

Back row: 6. James McNabney (Ballymena/Ulster), 7. Ruadhán Quinn (Old Crescent/Munster), 8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster) 

Replacements: 16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster), 17. George Morris (Lansdowne/Leinster), 18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht), 19. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster), 20. Jacob Sheahan (UCC/Munster), 21. Oscar Cawley (Naas/Leinster), 22. Harry West (Buccaneers/Connacht), 23. Rory Telfer (Queen’s University/Ulster).