Leinster declare side for Ulster clash

Leinster declare side for Ulster clash

Leo Cullen has selected his side for the United Rugby Championship clash against Ulster. Here's a reminder of the team to take on Ulster in Belfast:

Hugo Keenan, Tommy O'Brien, and Rob Russell start in the back three. Jimmy O’Brien and Charlie Ngatai start in midfield. The backline is completed by the duo of Harry Byrne and Cormac Foley.

The front pack consists of a front-row trio of Cian Healy, Rónan Kelleher, and Michael Ala’alatoa. James Ryan is joined in the second row by Brian Deeny.

In the back row, Max Deegan, Will Connors, and Jack Conan complete the pack.

Among the replacements, Ross Molony, Luke McGrath, and academy back Ben Brownlee are set to feature.

Speaking ahead of the game, Assistant Coach Andrew Goodman said Ulster will provide tough opposition under the leadership of new Head Coach Richie Murphy.

“They are building confidence with their results and performances in recent weeks. My experience of these games is that they are usually one-score matches. There will be plenty of pressure moments, and we need to come out on top of them.

“Ulster are desperate to win, and we are too. We want to stay in those top positions in the URC. It’s a massive week for us as a club.”

The game starts at 7.35pm later today

Leinster: Hugo Keenan; Tommy O'Brien, Jimmy O’Brien, Charlie Ngatai, Rob Russell; Harry Byrne, Cormac Foley, Cian Healy, Rónan Kelleher, Michael Ala’alatoa; James Ryan (captain), Brian Deeny; Max Deegan, Will Connors, Jack Conan.

Replacements: John McKee, Michael Milne, Thomas Clarkson, Ross Molony, Scott Penny, Luke McGrath, Sam Prendergast, and Ben Brownlee.