Fassbender and Murphy invited to join the Academy

Fassbender and Murphy invited to join the Academy

MICHAEL Fassbender and Cillian Murphy have been invited to join the body that awards the Oscars.

The Irish pair were among the 20 actors named this year by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as individuals who have "distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures."

The films 12 Years a Slave and Shame for Michael Fassbender and Murphy’s The Dark Knight Rises and Inception were cited as the works of note for the invitations.

Second-generation Irishman Steve Coogan was named in the writer's list for his work on Philomena.

A total of 271 invitations were issued this year to individuals in the film industry, including: actors, directors, producers, cinematographers, editors and other production professionals.

Those named must formally accept the invitations in order to be officially added to the Academy membership of over 6,000.

The President of the Academy, Cheryl Boone Isaacs, said that the invitees "represented some of the most talented, creative and passionate film-makers" whose "contributions to film have entertained audiences around the world."

Oscar-winner Lupita Nyong'o, Chris Rock, Jean-Marc Vallée and Pharrell Williams, were some of the others invited to become members of the Academy.

Click here for the full list.