How will Ireland's new mandatory quarantine law work and when will it be introduced?

How will Ireland's new mandatory quarantine law work and when will it be introduced?

IT was announced on Sunday that Ireland would be implementing a new mandatory hotel quarantine law for certain travellers entering the country.

President Michael D Higgins signed the new requirement into law as part of the rolling laws and regulations created to try and combat the spread of Covid-19.

But what exactly does the new law state and when will it come into effect here in Ireland?

Here's everything we know:

What does the new law state?

Anyone arriving in Ireland from a number of designated 'high risk' countries will be required to quarantine in a hotel for 14 days upon arrival.

When will the law come into effect?

It's expected to come into effect in the next few days. In the meantime, the Government is hashing out a number of contracts with hotel providers who will be providing accommodation for the arrivals.

"The next step in this process is to finalise and sign a contract with a service provider. I anticipate this will happen shortly," said Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly.

How will it work?

If you arrive in Ireland from any of the countries listed below, or if you have travelled through any of those countries on your way to Ireland, you will be taken to a designated quarantine hotel where you will spend the next 14 days.

Which countries are considered 'high risk'?

Mandatory hotel quarantine will now be required for people travelling to Ireland from 33 countries. The countries have been identified for having serious outbreaks of Covid-19 recently.

The following countries/territories are included: Argentina, Angola, Austria, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Rep. of Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Paraguay, South Africa, Rwanda, Tanzania, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, Seychelles, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Reports also indicate the travellers from 'high risk' countries may face a bill of up to €2,000.