Joe Biden names all-female senior White House press team

Joe Biden names all-female senior White House press team

PRESIDENT-ELECT has struck a blow for diversity in the White House after naming an all-female senior communications team as part of his incoming administration.

Biden’s campaign communications direct Kate Bedingfield has been appointed Whie House Communications director while former Democratic spokesperson Jen Psaki will serve as his press secretary.

Bedingfield served as communications director for Biden while the Irish-American politician was vice president alongside Barack Obama.

Psaki also boasts White House communications director and a spokesperson at the State Department.

In another significant step towards diversity, women of colour have been recruited into four of the seven top communications roles within Biden’s administration.

Kamala Harris' former chief of staff, Karine Jean-Pierre, has also been appointed principal deputy press secretary for Biden.

Elsewhere, Pili Tobar, who served as communications director for coalitions on Biden’s campaign, has been enlisted as deputy White House communications director.

It is the first time in the history of US politics that an entirely female senior White House communications team has been put in place.

The incoming Biden administration is eager to return White House operations to some form of normality following four years of combative briefings involving Donald Trump’s press team.

"Communicating directly and truthfully to the American people is one of the most important duties of a President, and this team will be entrusted with the tremendous responsibility of connecting the American people to the White House," Biden explained in a statement.

The President-elect added: “These qualified, experienced communicators bring diverse perspectives to their work and a shared commitment to building this country back better.”

Many of those picked as part of the press team boast experience working as part of the Obama administration or for other Democrats.