Which countries are on Ireland's 'Green List'?

Which countries are on Ireland's 'Green List'?

IRELAND'S official 'green list' has officially been updated, with a number of changes in store for would-be travellers and holidaymakers.

The green list, which was first introduced back in July, notes the destinations Irish people are free to travel to without having to isolate or restrict their movements for 14 days when they return.

The Government announced that the list will now be reviewed and subject to change every week.

Which countries are on the list? 

Currently, just seven countries have made the cut, with four nations added and six removed from the list as part of the recent update.

  • Cyprus
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Poland

Which countries have been removed?

Estonia, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Italy, Norway and Slovakia have been taken off the list.

When will the list be updated next?

The list will reviewed every week, but is likely to remain as it is until mid-October when Ireland will opt into the EU-wide 'traffic-light' system.

How will the 'traffic-light' system work?

It works in a similar way to the weather warning system in Ireland.


In this system, countries are assigned different colours depending on the severity and quantity of Covid-19 cases there. Irish citizens will be allowed to travel to 'green' and 'orange/amber' countries.

'Green-coloured' countries will include nations where the number of cases is lower than 25 per 100,000 people over a 14-day period, and the percentage of positive tests is the less than 3%.

'Orange-coloured' countries will include those with less than 50 cases per 100,000.

'Red-coloured' countries will include nations where there are more than 50 cases per 100,000. People travelling to Ireland from these countries will have to isolate for 14 days upon return and provide a negative Covid-19 case.

The U.K. is not on the green list, does this mean I have to isolate if I travel to and from Northern Ireland?

No. The Government has made an exception for those travelling in and out of Northern Ireland, but travelling to England, Scotland or Wales will mean that you'll have to isolate for 14 days upon your return.