Connacht squad named for Edinburgh trip

Connacht squad named for Edinburgh trip

Dan McFarland has picked his 23 for Saturday’s BKT United Rugby Championship clash away to Edinburgh. Eight changes have been made from the side that beat Ulster last weekend. 

Tom Daly and John Porch are making their debuts, with Daly forming a partnership with Byron Ralston, who transitions from the wing to outside centre. Andrew Smith takes the left-wing position, while Porch assumes the right-wing role, and Tiernan O’Halloran stays at full-back. 

Jack Carty continues to lead the side from out half. He is accompanied by scrum-half Caolin Blade. 

Seán O'Brien and Tadgh McElroy get their first Connacht starts away to Edinburgh. 

— Murray Kinsella (@Murray_Kinsella) November 10, 2023 

In the front row, Peter Dooley joins McElroy and Jack Aungier, and the Murray brothers, Niall and Darragh, team up in the second row. The starting lineup is finalised with flankers Cian Prendergast and Seán O’Brien. 

The bench includes the returning JJ Hanrahan, and there is a possibility of Sam Illo making his first appearance of the season. 

Commenting ahead of the game, head coach Pete Wilkins says: "Tomorrow marks the beginning of an important few weeks for us. We've made a good start with the three home wins but now need to keep that form going away from home, starting in Scotland tomorrow. 

Edinburgh away is always a tough test and this game will be no different. For us it was important to find a balance in our selection, rewarding recent performances, whilst also providing an opportunity to those players who have narrowly missed out in previous weeks.  Above all else it's a 23 that I believe can get the win, if we play to our strengths and take our opportunities when they come." 

The game kicks-off at 19:35pm 

Fullback: Tiernan O’Halloran 

Winger: John Porch 

Centres: Byron Ralston, Tom Daly 

Winger: Andrew Smith 

Out half: Jack Carty (c) Scrum half: Caolin Blade 

Front row: Peter Dooley, Tadgh McElroy, Jack Aungier 

Second Row: Niall Murray, Darragh Murray 

Back Row: Cian Prendergast, Conor Oliver, Seán O’Brien 

Bench: Dylan Tierney-Martin, Jordan Duggan, Sam Illo, Joe Joyce, Jarrad Butler, Colm Reilly, David Hawkshaw, JJ Hanrahan