ICYMI: There's one change to the Ireland team to face South Africa Stuart McCloskey replaces Robbie Henshaw

ICYMI: There's one change to the Ireland team to face South Africa Stuart McCloskey replaces Robbie Henshaw

IN CASE you missed Ireland’s team announcement for the game against South Africa at the Aviva Stadium today, here it is 

Andy Farrell has selected a strong side to face the world champions at 5.30pm.

Conor Murray starts at scrum half and with that will win his 100th cap for his country. He is joined by captain Johnny Sexton in the halfbacks.  

Ulster’s Robert Baloucoune starts on the wing, Mack Hansen starts on the other side. Hugo Keenan starts at fullback. 

Garry Ringrose and Stuart McCloskey. start in the middle for Ireland.  

Robbie Henshaw wass selected intially, but pulled out of the team due a hamstring issue.

Leinster’s Jimmy O’ Brien takes McCloskey’s place on the bench.

Ireland’s most potent front row of Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, and Tadhg Furlong make up the front row 

Tadhg Beirne and James Ryan start in the second row, while the back row consists of Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, and Caelan Doris.

The likes of Cian Healy, Rob Herring, James Ryan and Joey Carbery all start on the bench for Ireland 

This will be the first time the sides have faced each other since 2017. Ireland came out on top with a score of 38-3 in that game. 

However South Africa have since gone onto to win the World Cup, while Ireland have become the best ranked side in the world 

You can watch the game live on Virgin Media and Amazon Prime). 

Dublin , Ireland - 21 November 2021; Ireland head coach Andy Farrell speaks with Robert Baloucoune of Ireland before the Autumn Nations Series match between Ireland and Argentina at Aviva Stadium in Dublin. (Photo By Harry Murphy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)


Fullback:  15. Hugo Keenan 

Winger:  14. Robert Baloucoune 

Centers:  13. Gary Ringrose 12. Stuart McCloskey.

Winger:  11. Mack Hansen 

Out half:  10. Johnny Sexton Scrumhalf: 9. Conor Murray 

Front row:  1. Andrew Porter, 2. Dan Sheehan 3. Tadhg Furlong 

Second row:  5. Tadhg Beirne 6. James Ryan 

Backrow:  6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Caelan Doris 

Replacements:  16. Rob Herring, 17. Cian Healy, 18. Finlay Bealham, 19. Kieran Treadwell, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Jamison Gibson Park, 22. Joey Carbery, 23. Jimmy O'Brien 


Fullback:  15. Cheslin Kolbe 

Winger:  14. Kurt-Lee Arendse 

Centers:  13. Jesse Kriel 12. Damian De Allende 

Winger:  11. Makazole Mapimpi 

Out half:  10.Damian Willemse Scrumhalf: 9. Jaden Hendrikse 

Front row:  1. Frans Malherbe; 2. Steven Kitshoff, 3. Malcolm Marx 

Second row:  4, Eben Etzebeth, 5. Lood de Jager 

Backrow:  6. Siya Kolisi (capt), 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8. Jasper Wiese. 

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Ox Nche, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Deon Fourie, Kwagga Smith, Faf de Klerk, Willie le Roux.