Ireland's team to play France in Musgrave Park this weekend is out

Ireland's team to play France in Musgrave Park this weekend is out

The Ireland Match Day Squad, to face France in this weekend's TikTok Women’s Six Nations game, has been announced by Head Coach Greg McWilliams today. 

France, who are heavy favourites, head to Musgrave Park to take on an Ireland side that were well beaten by Wales in the opening round of the tournament.

McWilliams has made five changes to the side that lost to the Welsh. Two uncapped players have also been named on the bench.

Méabh Deely keeps her place at fullback, while Aoife Doyle and Natasja Behan have once again been named on the wings. Aoife Dalton and Vicky Irwin start in midfield for Ireland.

Molly Scuffil-McCabe starts at scrum half and Dannah O’Brien starts as fly half.

In the front row, Linda Djougang, Neve Jones, and Christy Haney get the nod.

Captain Nichola Fryday and Sam Monaghan provide cover in the second row. Dorothy Wall, Grace Moore, and Deirbhile Nic a Bháird complete the side.

Speaking ahead of the game, McWilliams said: “Last week was a disappointing start to the campaign for us but we turned the page quickly and were honest with ourselves. We know this journey is going to take time and require patience, and we are working hard as a group to learn those lessons and make positive progress every time we step on the field.

“Saturday is another opportunity for us to do that and returning to Musgrave Park is an exciting prospect for us all. The support of our home crowd, family and friends is so important to us, and with the backing of the Irish people, we can make strides in the right direction."

Saturday's match is live on Virgin Media One, BBC iPlayer, and RTÉ Radio 1. The game starts at 3.15pm this Saturday. Tickets for the game can also be found here.

Ireland team

Fullback: 15. Méabh Deely
Winger: 14 Aoife Doyle
Centers: 13. Aoife Dalton 12. Vicky Irwin
Winger: 11. Natasja Behan
Out half: 10.Dannah O'Brien  Scrum half: 9. Molly Scuffil-McCabe
Front Row: 1. Linda Djougang, 2. Neve Jones, 3. Christy Haney
Second Row4. Nichola Fryday (capt), 5.Sam Monaghan;
Back Row:6. Dorothy Wall, 7. Grace Moore, 8. Deirbhile Nic a Bháird

Replacements: Clara Nielson, Sadhbh McGrath, Kathryn Buggy, Hannah O'Connor, Brittany Hogan, Nicole Cronin, Anna McGann, Lauren Delany,