League of Ireland bosses up for SSE Airtricity awards

League of Ireland bosses up for SSE Airtricity awards

The nominations for the 2023 SSE Airtricity/Soccer Writers Ireland Awards were announced this week. St Patrick's Athletics' manager Jon Daly and Shamrock Rovers' manager Stephen Bradley are both in contention to win the Men's Personality of the Year award after they both managed to help their sides win silverware this year 

Bradley, who is no stranger to picking up silverware with Rovers, managed to help the south Dublin side win their fourth League of Ireland title in a row. Daly also won the FAI (Football Association of Ireland) Cup with Pats after beating Rovers' arch-rivals Bohemians this month. 

There are another four nominations on the shortlist. Shelbourne's Damien Duff, Drogheda United's Kevin Doherty are also recognized for a solid season. The remaining two on the shortlist are League of Ireland Premier Division players - Ruairí Keating and Roberto Lopes. 

In the women’s Personality of the Year, four players and two managers make up the six-person list. 

Former Republic of Ireland international Karen Duggan, 20-year-old Erin McLaughlin, Athlone Town's manager Ciaran Kilduff, Peamount United's James O'Callaghan, Aine O'Gorman of Shamrock Rovers, and Dana Scheriff of Athlone Town's striker also make the women's cut. 

The Goalkeeper of the Year award will be contested by Derry City’s Brian Maher, Shelbourne's Conor Kearns, and Peamount United No. 1 Niamh Reid Burke. 

The awards will be presented at a banquet at the Royal Dublin Convention Centre on Friday, December 8. 

Men's Personality of the Year 

Stephen Bradley (Shamrock Rovers); Jon Daly (St Patrick’s Athletic); Kevin Doherty (Drogheda United); Damien Duff (Shelbourne); Ruairí Keating (Cork City FC); Roberto Lopes (Shamrock Rovers). 

Women's Personality of the Year 

Karen Duggan (Peamount United); Ciaran Kilduff (Athlone Town); Erin McLaughlin (Peamount United); James O'Callaghan (Peamount United); Aine O'Gorman (Shamrock Rovers); Dana Scheriff (Athlone Town). 

Goalkeeper of the Year 

Conor Kearns (Shelbourne); Brian Maher (Derry City); Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United).