Leinster name team for 2024 Investec Champions Cup Final

Leinster name team for 2024 Investec Champions Cup Final

Leinster announced their side to play Toulouse in the Champions Cup final on Friday, with three changes from the team that defeated Northampton Saints in the semi-final earlier this month. Hugo Keenan, Jason Jenkins, and Will Connors all start for the Irish province in London.

Keenan, who has overcome his injury worries, starts in a back three with Jordan Larmour and James Lowe on the wings. Robbie Henshaw and Jamie Osborne start in midfield. Gary Ringrose has failed to recover from his shoulder injury. The half-backs consist of Ross Byrne and Jamison Gibson-Park.

In the front pack, the familiar Irish trio of Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, and Tadhg Furlong get the nod. Joe McCarthy and Jason Jenkins start in the engine room.

The side is completed by a back row of Ryan Baird, Connors, and Caelan Doris.

Among the replacements, there are four players with at least 100 appearances for Leinster, while all eight have at least 60 caps. Cian Healy is set to play in his ninth European final, while Leinster co-captain James Ryan is in line for his first European appearance of this season’s knockout stages, having last featured in the pool finale against Leicester Tigers.

Toulouse are unchanged from the XV that defeated Harlequins in the semi-final, with Scotland international Blair Kinghorn notably preferred to Thomas Ramos at full-back.

Speaking ahead of tomorrow’s match, forwards coach Robin McBryde said. “If you don’t get excited this week, you’re in the wrong job. We’ve had to work bloody hard to get here again. There are a lot of good teams in the competition, and we had to fight hard to get here. It’s a tough week for the boys who aren’t selected, but it’s vital that they play their part in preparing this team for Saturday. I’ve never been anywhere better where that happens.”

Leinster play Toulouse at 2:45 later today. The game will be broadcast live on TNT Sports 1 and ITV4.

Leinster: Hugo Keenan; Jordan Larmour, Robbie Henshaw, Jamie Osborne, James Lowe; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong; Joe McCarthy, Jason Jenkins; Ryan Baird, Will Connors, and Caelan Doris (captain).

Replacements: Rónan Kelleher, Cian Healy, Michael Ala'alatoa, James Ryan, Jack Conan, Luke McGrath, Ciarán Frawley, and Josh van der Flier.

Toulouse: Blair Kinghorn; Juan Cruz Mallia, Paul Costes, Pita Ahki, Matthis Lebel; Romain Ntamack, Antoine Dupont (captain); Cyril Baille, Peato Mauvaka, Dorian Aldegheri; Thibaud Flament, Emmanuel Meafou; Jack Willis, Francois Cros, Alexandre Roumat

Replacements: Julien Marchand, Rodrigue Neti, Joel Merkler, Richie Arnold, Joshua Brennan, Paul Graou, Santiago Chocobares, and Thomas Ramos