Leinster welcome back five Irish stars for Dragons test

Leinster welcome back five Irish stars for Dragons test

The Leinster Rugby team to face Dragons RFC in Round 4 of the BKT United Rugby Championship was named this week. Several Irish internationals return to the side after their Rugby World Cup exploits. Five members of Andy Farrell's side have been selected by Leo Cullen. 

Hooker Dan Sheehan leads the team as captain for the first time. He starts alongside Jack Boyle and Thomas Clarkson. In the second row, Joe McCarthy returns from Rugby World Cup duties alongside Jason Jenkins. The front pack is completed by Ryan Baird, also making his first appearance this season. Will Connors and James Culhane are in the back row. 

Ciarán Frawley starts at full-back. He is supported by Tommy O’Brien and Jimmy O’Brien on the wings. 

Jamie Osborne and Charlie Ngatai form the centre pairing once again, while Ross Byrne makes his return at fly-half. Academy scrum-half Ben Murphy earns his first start for Leinster. 

Among the replacements, Samoa captain Michael Ala’alatoa is poised to earn his 50th Leinster cap. 

Leinster’s Contact Skills Coach Seán O’Brien, speaking ahead of the game, expects a tough battle at Rodney Parade. “Dragons are a very dangerous side. They have an incredibly strong maul, with some dangerous backs, and a good back row. We know from previous visits how tough the task is.” 

The game is live from 1:15pm, and can be seen on RTÉ2 and Premier Sports 1

Leinster team

15 Full-back Ciarán Frawley

14. Wing Tommy O’Brien

13 Centre - Jamie Osborne 12 Centre - Charlie Ngatai

11. Wing Jimmy O’Brien

10 Fly-half - Ross Byrne 9. Scrum-half - Ben Murphy

Front row 1. Jack Boyle 2. Dan Sheehan CAPTAIN 3. Thomas Clarkson

Second row 4. Joe McCarthy 5. Jason Jenkins

Back row 6. Ryan Baird 7. Will Connors 8. James Culhane

Replacements: Lee Barron, Paddy McCarthy, Michael Ala’alatoa, Max Deegan, Scott Penny, Cormac Foley, Harry Byrne, Rob Russell 

Referee: Gianluca Gnecchi (FIR)