Leinster welcome back Irish stars for Scarlets visit

Leinster welcome back Irish stars for Scarlets visit

Leinster's head coach, Leo Cullen, has revealed his 23-man squad for the upcoming game against the Scarlets in the United Rugby Championship this weekend. Several Ireland players who participated in the Rugby World Cup are making their return to the side. 

Hugo Keenan is back in the starting lineup, taking up the fullback position alongside Jordan Larmour and Jimmy O'Brien, who fill the wing positions. 

Garry Ringrose, one of Leinster's co-captains, will start in the midfield alongside Jamie Osborne. Academy graduate Sam Prendergast gets the nod at fly-half, and he is joined in the half-back pairing by another returning World Cup player, Jamison Gibson-Park. 

The front row sees the return of Andrew Porter and Rónan Kelleher, accompanied by Thomas Clarkson. In the second row, Ryan partners with Joe McCarthy, and Ireland's co-captain James Ryan completes that set. 

The back row comprises of World Cup stars Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris, and Max Deegan. 

Ross Byrne is set to achieve a milestone with his 150th Leinster appearance, while Academy scrum-half Fintan Gunne is poised to make his debut. 

Speaking ahead of the game, Leinster Assistant Coach Robin McBryde emphasized the team's anticipation of a challenging encounter against the Welsh outfit. 

“Scarlets had a few tough away trips to the South African teams. They have nothing to lose and are coming here to make a point. 

“There is no more dangerous team than the Scarlets in that mode. They are dangerous in the backs. If the forwards can give them a platform, they will be a handful.” 

(Kick-off: 7:35 pm, live on TG4 and Premier Sports 1). 

Leinster team

15 Full-back Hugo Keenan

14. Wing Jordan Larmour

13 Centre Garry Ringrose CO-CAPTAIN 12 Centre - Jamie Osborne

11. Wing. Jimmy O’Brien

10 Fly-half - Sam Prendergast 9. Scrum-half - Jamison Gibson-Park

Front row 1. Andrew Porter 2. Rónan Kelleher 3. Thomas Clarkson

Second row 4.. Joe McCarthy 5. James Ryan CO-CAPTAIN

Back row 6. Max Deegan 7. Josh van der Flier 8. Caelan Doris

Replacements:  16. Dan Sheehan 17. Jack Boyle 18. Tadhg Furlong 19. Ross Molony 20. Scott Penny 21. Fintan Gunne 22. Ross Byrne  23. Ciarán Frawley