Meath dominate selections for the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year

Meath dominate selections for the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year

The Tailteann Cup Team of the Year has been announced, and it comes as no surprise that Meath dominates the team with eight spots. Joining them are four players from the finalists, Down, and one each from Antrim, Carlow, and Cavan.

Meath's captain and veteran player, Donal Keogan, secures his spot in the half-back line alongside his teammate, Padraic Harnan, Seán Brennan and Adam O’Neill also earned their places. U20 star Conor Gray, along with Jack Flynn, Jordan Morris, and Mathew Costello, complete the Meath selections.

Representing Derry are Pierce Laverty, Danny Magill, Odhran Murdock, and Liam Kerr, who have all been recognised for their outstanding performances.

Cavan's Padraig Faulkner makes history by becoming the first person ever to be named on both the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year and the PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year. He is selected for the full-back line.

Antrim’s Ruairí McCann and Carlow’s Ross Dunphy fill the remaining two places on the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year for 2022.

To compile this team, players from the Tailteann Cup were asked to nominate standout performers in the competition. An independent selection committee then adjudicated the final team based on player performances, supported by video footage and county nominations.

The awards ceremony will take place at a gala black-tie event in Croke Park this Friday night. The show will be streamed live on from 7pm. and will also include the awards for the Ring, Rackard, and Meagher Champion 15 Team of the Year, as well as the presentation of the overall Players of the Year in these championships.

Tailteann Cup Team of the Year 2023 

1 Seán Brennan (Meath)

2 Adam O’Neill (Meath)

3 Pierce Laverty (Down)

4 Padraig Faulkner (Cavan)

5 Donal Keogan (Meath)

6 Padraic Harnan (Meath)

7 Danny Magill (Down)

8 Odhran Murdock (Down)

9 Conor Gray (Meath)

10 Jack Flynn (Meath)

11 Ross Dunphy (Carlow)

12 Liam Kerr (Down)

13 Jordan Morris (Meath)

14 Mathew Costello (Meath)

15 Ruairí McCann – (Antrim) St Mary’s