Munster name side to face Bayonne in Champions Cup

Munster name side to face Bayonne in Champions Cup

The Munster side to face Bayonne in the opening round of the Champions Cup at Thomond Park was released on Friday.

Here's a reminder if you missed the team announcement.

Munster head coach Graham Rowntree has made six changes to the starting lineup. Calvin Nash starts as Munster's fullback. He is joined there by wingers Shay McCarthy, an academy prospect, and Sean O'Brien.

Alex Nankivell and Rory Scannell start in midfield. Conor Murray and Jack Crowley start as both scrumhalf and outhalf for Munster.

In the front row, Jeremy Loughman, Scott Buckley, and John Ryan get the nod. Behind them in the second row, Fineen Wycherley, and captain Tadhg Beirne also start. The side is also completed by a back row of Tom Ahern, John Hodnett, and Gavin Coombes.

The game kicks off at 5:30 pm later today.

Match tickets are available here.



15. Full-back - Calvin Nash

14. Wing - Seán O’Brien

11. Wing - Shay McCarthy

13. Inside Centre - Alex Nankivell 12. Outside Centre - Rory Scannell

1o Fly-half - Jack Crowley 9. Scrumhalf - Conor Murray

Front pack:

1. Prop - Jeremy Loughman 2. Hooker - Scott Buckley 3. Prop - John Ryan

4. Second Row - Fineen Wycherley 5. Second Row - Tadhg Beirne (C)

6. Flanker - Tom Ahern 7. Flanker - John Hodnett 8. Flanker - Gavin Coombes