Everything you need to know for the 2024 Sam Maguire

Everything you need to know for the 2024 Sam Maguire

The quest for the 2024 Sam Maguire title will begin this weekend.

Following the Ulster and Leinster finals, the four pools and the fixtures for the round-robin phase have been decided.

Here are the draw results and fixture information for the next phase of the Championship

Draw Results:

Dublin's victory over Louth places them as the top seeds in group B. Donegal emerged as the top seeds in group C after winning the Ulster final in penalties. Galway secured their spot in Group A last week by defeating Mayo at Pearse Stadium. However, Group A is shaping up to be highly competitive, with Derry, Galway, and Armagh.

Joe O'Connor of Kerry is in action against Brian Fenton of Dublin during the Allianz Football League Division 1 match between Dublin and Kerry at Croke Park in Dublin. (Photo By Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images) )

Qualifying Teams for Sam Maguire Cup:

The 16 counties qualified for the Sam Maguire are:

  1. Clare (Munster runner-ups)
  2. Galway (Connacht winners)
  3. Mayo (Connacht runner-ups)
  4. Kerry (Munster winners)
  5. Meath (Tailteann Cup winners)
  6. Armagh (Ulster finalists)
  7. Donegal (Ulster winners)
  8. Derry
  9. Cavan
  10. Tyrone
  11. Monaghan
  12. Roscommon
  13. Dublin (Leinster winners)
  14. Louth (Leinster runner-ups)
  15. Westmeath
  16. Cork


Teams were grouped into four pots based on their performance in the provincial Championships. During the draw, one team from each pot was selected to determine the groups, which will then play a round-robin series. The top three teams from each group will progress to the provisional quarterfinals.

Pool A:

  1. Galway
  2. Derry
  3. Armagh
  4. Westmeath

Pool B:

  1. Dublin
  2. Mayo
  3. Roscommon
  4. Cavan

Pool C:

  1. Donegal
  2. Clare
  3. Tyrone
  4. Cork

Pool D:

  1. Kerry
  2. Louth
  3. Monaghan
  4. Meath

Round Robin Knockout Fixtures:

Round one will take place on Saturday, May 18th, with the following set of games showcasing the Leinster and Ulster finalists on Saturday, May 25th.

Round 1: May 18–May 25:

  1. Kerry vs. Monaghan, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, May 18, 15:00, GAAGO
  2. Mayo vs. Cavan, Mac Hale Park, Castlebar, May 18, 17:00, untelevised
  3. Galway vs. Derry, Pearse Stadium, Salthill, May 18, 17:30, GAAGO
  4. Clare vs. Cork, Cusack Park, Ennis, May 18, 18:00, untelevised
  5. Dublin vs. Roscommon, Croke Park, Dublin, May 25, 17:00, GAAGO
  6. Louth vs. Meath, Grattan Park, Inneskeen, May 25, 17:30, untelevised
  7. Armagh vs. Westmeath, BOX-IT Athletic Grounds, Armagh, May 25, 18:00, untelevised
  8. Donegal vs. Tyrone, MacCumhaill Park, Ballybofey, May 25, 19:15 GAAGO