Leinster have made a number of changes for the game against Cardiff in the URC

Leinster have made a number of changes for the game against Cardiff in the URC

LEINSTER'S LINEUP TO face Cardiff in the latest round of the United Rugby Championship was released on Friday. 

Leo Cullen has made several changes to the side due because most of the high-profile stars have left to join Andy Farrell's Six Nations side. 

Leinster will be without several key men that include the likes of Johnny Sexton, Tadgh Furlong, Hugo Keenan, Josh van Der Flier, and other players.  

The game against Cardiff kicks off at 5.05pm and can be seen live on RTÉ2 

Tickets for the game at the RDS Arena can be found HERE 

Rhys Ruddock captains the side in Johnny Sexton's absence. The experienced campaigner starts in the back row alongside Scott Penny and Max Deegan 

Wales , United Kingdom - 7 January 2023; Rhys Ruddock of Leinster is tackled by Alun Wyn-Jones of Ospreysduring the United Rugby Championship between Ospreys and Leinster at the Swansea.com Stadium in Swansea, Wales. (Photo By Harry Murphy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

A back three of Chris Cosgrove at fullback and Max O'Reilly and Davy Kearney start on the wings.  

The midfield paring of Liam Turner and Ben Brownlee, who makes his first start for Leinster start in the centre 

Harry Byrne and Luke McGrath start at 10 and 9. 

The front row looks like Michael Milne, John McKee, and Michael Ala’alatoa 

Behind them in the engine room Ross Maloney and Brian Deeney start in the second row 


Fullback: 15.Chris Cosgrave

Winger: 14. Max O’Reilly

Centres 13. Liam Turner 12. Ben Brownlee

Winger: 11. Dave Kearney

Out half: 10 Harry Byrne , Scrum half 9. Luke McGrath

Front row:1. Michael Milne 2. John McKee 3. Michael Ala’alatoa

Second row: 4. Ross Molony 5. Brian Deeny

Back row: 6. Rhys Ruddock CAPTAIN 7. Scott Penny 8. Max Deegan

Replacements:16. Tadgh McElroy, 17. Marcus Hanan, 18. Thomas Clarkson, 19. James Culhane, 20. Will Connors , 21. Nick McCarthy , 22. Charlie Tector , 23. Aitzol King


Fullback: 15.Rhys Priestland

Winger: 14. Owen Lane

Centres 13.Rey Lee-Lo, 12. Ben Thomas

Winger: 11.Jason Harries

Out half: 10 Jarrod Evans, , Scrum half 9. Lloyd Williams

Front row:1. Brad Thyer, 2. Kirby Myhill, 3. Keiron Assiratti,

Second row: 4.Lopeti Timani, 5. Seb Davies

Back row: 6. Josh Turnbull (capt.), James Botham, James Ratti

Replacements:16. Kristian Dacey, 17. Corey Domachowski, 18. Will Davies-King, 19. Rory Thornton, 20. Shane Lewis-Hughes, 21. Ellis Bevan, 22. Aled Summerhill, 23. Matthew Morgan